VAAMATAR stream IRON BONEHEAD debut at Black Metal Promotion


American black metallers Vaamatar stream the entirety of their highly anticipated debut album, Medievalgeist, at the Black Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Set for international release on May 20th via Iron Bonehead Productions, hear Vaamatar‘s Medievalgeist in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Formed in 2020, out of the ashes of two projects coming to an end, Los Angeles’ Vaamatar was born with one intention: to play black metal in its purest form. Raw and fast and free of frills, the full-length Medievalgeist is the follow-up to their debut EP, Evil Witching Black Metal. Immediately, old sensations are awakened and recast anew. The spectre of the second wave of black metal during the 1990s drapes its wings across Medievalgeist, but Vaamatar‘s strong songwriting eludes easy categorization. Instead of early Darkthrone, one can hear here contemporaneously early Dødheimsgard; instead of early Enslaved, the ’90s work of Norway’s Hades; instead of prime Marduk, comparably prime Arckanum, and so on. Which is all to underline that the duo of Vaamatar are old souls to the bitter end, having imbibed ancient wisdoms and now spilling them freely across their own teachings in the form of Medievalgeist.

Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Greg Wilkinson (Autopsy, Necrot, Vastum) during the turbulent unrelenting pandemic, Medievalgeist conveys a cold, apocalyptic atmosphere fit for the ages. Its six-song/41-minute runtime is exceptionally immersive, working on spiritual/transcendental levels as well as ones rooted in good, old-fashioned headbanging. But mark these words: Vaamatar do not play “party” black metal. This is serious, sophisticatedly unsophisticated Black Art brewed in archaic splendor – old catacombs open and spectral shades escape to the velvety embrace of the night. This is Medievalgeist!

Fully embrace the night exclusively HERE, courtesy of the Black Metal Promotion YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:


Tracklisting for Vaamatar’s Medievalgeist
1. Medievalgeist [8:10]
2. Plundering Claws [6:37]
3. Hallowed Flesh [5:45]
4. Spit & Gravel [8:04]
5. Axe of Dolor [4:45]
6. Midnight Montpelier [7:27]


Related posts

VAAMATAR premiere new track at


VAAMATAR set release date for IRON BONEHEAD debut, reveal first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More