GRIGORIEN set release date for SIGNAL REX debut, reveal first track – features members of LIGFAERD, GEISTAZ’IKA, WITCHCULT+++

Signal Rex announces August 5th as the international release date for Grigorien‘s long-awaited debut album, Magtens Evangelium, on CD format. The vinyl LP version will follow later this year.

Named after the promethean angels that sinned against God in the Apocrypha, Grigorien was originally conceived in 2006 by Spedalsk and Benedictus as a tool for uncompromising hate propaganda and a call to violence against religion and in particular the Abrahamitic three. Starting in 2007, a demo was released every three years, and then, in 2015, came a split with Danish comrades Ligfaerd. Thereafter, silence…until now.

At long last, Grigorien are set to release their full-length debut, Magtens Evangelium. With a lineup that presently includes vocals by Spedalsk (who also lends his voice to Witchcult), guitars and bass by Benedictus (who also plays bass in Witchcult and Ligfaerd), and drums by Geistaz (who has the solo project Geistaz’ika), Grigorien hereby encompass past, present, and future with their vintage black metal ultraviolence. Translated into English as “The Gospel of Power,” Magtens Evangelium is framed as an imagined theatrical play, in which nine choirs – humans, angels, and seraphs – quarrel over the order of the world and their place in it, each castigating the others and declaring themselves favored by their creator, until the profane priestess Veridian settles the dispute and proclaims a new world order. More concretely, Grigorien whip forth a fury that recalls 1996 in all its whiteout splendor: insane OTT speed, utterly scything guitars, orkish vokills, and a strive for abyssic oblivion. If such names invoked as Thy Primordial, Unlord, and especially Setherial fall on deaf ears, then likely Magtens Evangelium is not for you.

Find out for yourself with the brand-new track “Et Taarn til de Høyeste Himle” HERE at Signal Rex‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:


Tracklisting for Grigorien’s Magtens Evangelium
1. De 9 Chor
2. Skammens Æt
3. Boedsgang og Blodig Hoste
4. Østens Hviide Slange
5. Et Taarn til de Høyeste Himle
6. Tiggere i Gyldne Pialter
7. Strafferens Psalmer
8. Af Kviksølv og Galdes Chor
9. De Blindes Hyrde
10. Syndens Slegtsbog
11. Den Kaossymmetriske Liturgie

Related posts

GRIGORIEN stream SIGNAL REX debut at No Gleaming Light – features members of LIGFAERD, GEISTAZ’IKA, WITCHCULT+++


GRIGORIEN premiere new track at “Legacy” magazine’s website – features members of LIGFAERD, GEISTAZ’IKA, WITCHCULT+++


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More