CEREMONIAL WORSHIP premiere new track at “Legacy” magazine’s website


Greek black metallers Ceremonial Worship premiere the new track “Vomitous Moon” at Legacy magazine’s website. The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated second album, Seven Gateways to Eternal Misanthropy, set for international release on July 22nd via Eternal Death on vinyl LP format. Hear Ceremonial Worship‘s “Vomitous Moon” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Hailing from Hellas itself, Ceremonial Worship formed in 2016 and a year later made its public debut with a self-titled EP. The singular creation of one High Priest C.W., Ceremonial Worship is the ultimate expression of his individual inner-darkness, which further manifested in another EP in 2018.

In 2021, Ceremonial Worship delivered its first recording under the banner of Eternal Death with a split tape with Filipino comrades Omenfilth, jointly titled The Pact of Morbid Conspiracy. The band’s first full-length came at the beginning of 2022, titled Ode to Dionyssus, but in a very limited edition. As such, one could qualify Seven Gateways to Eternal Misanthropy as Ceremonial Worship‘s true full-length debut.

Either way you cut it, Seven Gateways to Eternal Misanthropy is a grim and challenging excursion into the darkest depths of – YES – misanthropy. Whereas prior Ceremonial Worship recordings exhibited the hallmarks of classic Hellenic black metal – thick, pulsing walls of dread and doom, with simple ‘n’ straightforward songwriting driving the point home – with Seven Gateways to Eternal Misanthropy, mainman High Priest C.W. goes a more abstracted route. Drums are still primitive and indeed pulsing and his vocals suitably throaty in their anguish, but it’s the man’s weird, wild riffing that makes the album so eerie and disturbing: at once atonal and melodic, impossibly distant but somehow forceful, with well-timed explosions of melted soloing. Instead of the usual parallels to the “Big Three” of Greek black metal (Rotting Christ, Varathron, Necromantia), we can point to that pivotal scene’s stranger outliers like Disharmony, Fiendish Nymph, Zephyrous, and early Vorphalack as aesthetic analogues.  

Not for this world, not for this time, Ceremonial Worship inhabits its own unique void of misery. Step into these Seven Gateways to Eternal Misanthropy and emerge transformed…or ruined.

Transform or ruin with the brand-new track “Vomitous Moon” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Legacy, Germany’s premier extreme metal authority. Further transform (or ruin) with the previously revealed “Opus Blood” HERE at Eternal Death‘s Bandcamp, where the album can also be preordered. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:


Tracklisting for Ceremonial Worship’s Seven Gateways to Eternal Misanthropy
1. Intro
2. True Evil in Me
3. Death From Mountain Hills
4. Opus Blood
5. Orders Beyond Horizon
6. Vomitous Moon
7. Path of Burning Ambitions
8. Vanishing Heaven


Related posts

CEREMONIAL WORSHIP stream new ETERNAL DEATH album at No Gleaming Light


CEREMONIAL WORSHIP set release date for new ETERNAL DEATH album, reveal first track


CEREMONIAL WORSHIP and OMENFILTH split album for ETERNAL DEATH now streaming on


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More