MOLDER share new single and music video, ‘Relentless Pestilence’

Photographer credit: Ashley Mau

Chicago, IL’s most fetid, MOLDER have today shared the third and final pre-release single to be taken from their upcoming sophomore album, Engrossed in Decay, titled Relentless Pestilence. Alongside the release of the track, MOLDER have also shared an accompanying music video that features the band showcasing their bludgeoning chemistry in stark black and grey.

Engrossed in Decay is due for release on July 15 and is available to pre-order here.


Stream Relentless Pestilence via Apple MusicTIDALDeezerBandcamp and Spotify

Speaking on the album announcement and track premiere MOLDER comments: “Relentless Pestilence is our ode to living in a plague ridden world. Generally speaking it’s about meeting your demise from an unsuspecting force. Although it was written during the midst of the pandemic, it is not specifically about Covid-19, or any specific event for that matter. It’s just a four-minute ripper about successful world obliteration through the release of contagions. That said, we’re thrilled to drop this video filmed in our rehearsal space. No fancy backdrop, storyline, acting, etc. here… just raw footage of us doing what we do every week in the basement.”

Conceptually, Engrossed in Decay collects the sonic aesthetics of in-song samples, death-obsessed lyrics, and colorful mucus and blood themes into a cohesively gross package. This is the type of gift found in medical waste repositories or in the aftermath of a kitchen knife rampage. One look at the cover illustrated by Lucas Korte (Blood Incantation, Tomb Mold), and MOLDER’s sordid intentions are immediately evident. This is blood-curdling, gore-hurling death metal from graves licentiously disturbed.

Recorded at Studio Novy with Cheyenne Brandt (Vanished Cadavers, and Chicago Metal Hell Vol 2), Cianide’s Scott Carroll joined the sessions as steward before the final mix went to Philadelphia-based mastering ace Arthur Rizk (Creeping Death, Temple of Void). The result is an engrossing experience, nasty to the touch yet riveting like a chainsaw battle. Glutinous RemainsChemically DissolvedHuff the Stench, and the title track are prime examples of MOLDER’s choicest, meatiest cuts.

The next phase of MOLDER’s depraved death metal domination will commence after Engrossed in Decay is unleashed upon metaldom. Until then, they’ll fester wildly in and around Chicago, with the rest of North America suffering perversely with a full-scale bloodbath later in 2022.

You’ve been warned! MOLDER are coming for you, their stomach-churning, mortifying corpses in full-on attack mode. 


Engrossed in Decay tracklist:

1. Glutinous Remains
2. Engrossed in Decay
3. Relentless Pestilence
4. Chemically Dissolved
5. Disinhumed Carcass Revived
6. Huff the Stench
7. Unsubstantial Hallucinations
8. Ghastly Mutations
9. Decomposed Embryos
10. Cask of Maggots

Upcoming MOLDER shows:

July 22nd – Reggies – Chicago, IL
August 13 – Heavy Hell III Festival – Black Circle – Indianapolis, IN
August 19 – Club Garibaldi – Milwaukee, WI

Related posts

MOLDER, Engrossed in Decay, premiering in full


MOLDER premiere new single and visualizer, ‘Decomposed Embryos’


MOLDER announce new album, ‘Engrossed in Decay’, title track premiering now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More