VOLCANDRA release new EP, ‘Border World’

Photographer credit: Shaun Christopher

Recent Prosthetic signees, VOLCANDRA have today released their new EP, titled Border World, via the Los Angeles heavy metal label. The Louisville, KY group’s latest release features four songs of highly ambitious sci-fi inspired melodic black metal, featuring a plethora of fantasy video game references within their songwriting and lyrics. In support of Border WorldVOLCANDRA head out on tour today (June 24) with more details on the tour below.

Border World is available to order on cassette here.

Listen to Border World via Apple MusicTIDALDeezerBandcamp and Spotify

Speaking on the release of Border WorldVOLCANDRA comments: “We are so excited to finally unleash Border World to the masses. The songs on this release were all meticulously crafted to entice the imagination of the listener, get their fists pumping, and their heads banging. With a balance of melody and ferocity this EP is destined to take you for an outlandish ride, but is still only a taste of things to come.”

Since their 2019 inception and a well-received 2020 debut full-length, Into the AzureVOLCANDRA have steadfastly been honing their craft on both the live-circuit and in the recording studio. Across Border World’s runtime, VOLCANDRA offers a distinctively futuristic vision of melodic black metal – with lyrical tales of possessed mythical beasts, draconic cyborgs and mystical border worlds inspired by a deep love for video games and futuristic storytelling. All of these thematic elements are brought to life in stunning fashion by Varises Otak (Cattle Decapitation, Cryptopsy and Amon Amarth)’s cover art.

Produced in its entirety by Devin Harper at Nocturnal Audio in the band’s home city of Louisville, Border World’s amalgam of sonic extremity and melodious sheen compliments the band’s lofty musicianship – with guitar duo Jamie DeMar and River Jordan alternating between contorted rhythms and luculent leads. VOLCANDRA’s propelling force of Mike Hargrave (drums) and Dyer Keathley (bass) provide a resolute backbone to the EP’s more excoriating passages of black metal, allowing Dave Palenske’s vocals to sit commandingly atop Border World’s barrage of sound.Disinterested in theatrics and forced mystique, VOLCANDRA’s latest slice of fantasy world building is a byproduct of the band members lifelong reverence for science fiction – which serves as a vibrant alternative to some of metal’s darker corners. The group have officially opened the portal to their border world, and the invite remains open for all dreamers and wide eyed escapists who wish to enter.

Upcoming VOLCANDRA tour dates:

June 24 – Whirling Tiger – Louisville, KY

June 25 – JJ’s Bohemia – Chattanooga, TN

June 26 – Santo’s – New Orleans, LA

June 27 – The Nick – Birmingham, AL

June 28 – Boggs – Atlanta, GA 

June 29 – Odditorium – Asheville, NC 

July 1 – Black Forge Coffee – Pittsburgh, PA

July 2 – Brimming Horn Meadery – Milton, DE

August 31 – Yellow Cab Tavern – Dayton, OH

September 01 – Squirrel Hill Sports Bar – Pittsburgh, PA

September 02 – RPM Fest – Mantague, MA

September 05 – The Depot – Baltimore, MD

September 06 – The Loud – Huntington, WV


Border World tracklist:
1. Tallon IV
2. Resonance Cascade
3. Colossi
4. Guardian

Dave Palenske – Vocals
River Jordan – Guitar
Jamie DeMar – Guitar
Dyer Keathley – Bass
Mike Hargrave – Drums

Related posts

VOLCANDRA release new album, ‘The Way of Ancients’; New music video for ‘Seven Tombs’ out now


VOLCANDRA announce new album, ‘The Way of Ancients’; Lead single and music video, ‘Fouled Sanctity’, premiering now


VOLCANDRA share new music video for ‘Resonance Cascade’; On tour now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More