AVELION – Italian progressive metallers release new single “Bound To Blackness”


The flagbearers of modern Italian progressive metal, AVELION, have been churning out bombastic singles for more than a decade, dropping a string of releases that have been helping shape the genre. In 2022, they return with “Bound To Blackness”, the first single recorded with new vocalist Riccardo Rizzardelli.

The song – recorded, produced and mixed by Simone Mularoni – is now available at THIS LOCATION.

“‘Bound To Blackness’ is a song that manages to encompass all the main elements of our music: melody, groove, oddly shifting time signatures, electronics, ambient and cinematic arrangements, as well as dense progressive instrumental sections.
We worked very hard in the studio with Simone Mularoni to create a truly original and modern mix, suitable not only for progressive metal fans, but also for power and melodic metal listeners, as well as for djent and modern metal enthusiasts.
We can’t wait to take old fans and new listeners on this journey through the different nuances that make up our sound.
The concept of the song is open to each listener’s interpretation, but there is a message of self development and inner growth, which involves awareness, acceptance and finally overcoming our darkest side.
It’s a song about fighting your inner nightmares to find yourself. A journey in which acceptance and redemption are to be sought within ourselves”.

Mastering by Luca Bottoli
Cover Artwork by Stefano Mattioni at Viron 2.0
Photo by Egon Reboldi

Each AVELION release expands and clarifies the band’s mission to bring forth the most dynamic sonic offerings. Marrying progressive and modern metal influences, AVELION approach each song as a unique opportunity to destroy and rebuild the listener’s perception.



Riccardo Rizzardelli – Vocals
Oreste Giacomini – Keyboards
Leonardo Freggi- Guitars
Danilo Arisi – Bass
Alessandro Ponzi – Drums

AVELION have developed a gloriously turbulent sound that is uniquely their own. Hailing from Parma, Italy, the band have been tearing venues apart across Europe with their powerful fusion of genres since 2008.
In 2011 AVELION released the first studio work: the EP “Cold Embrace”. The following year the band started an intense live activity, leading to the great opportunity to play as opening act for Seventh Wonder (with Tommy Karevik, Kamelot).
In 2012 the band released the promotional single “Falling Down” which sees the collaboration with guitarist Olaf Thorsen (Labyrinth, Vision Divine)
AVELION‘s second EP, “Liquid Breathing”, was published in 2013. The EP delivers a more personal, modern and mature sound: melodic progressive metal mixed with djent influences, all combined with a strong electronic flavour.
In 2015 the band entered Simone Mularoni’s Domination Studio (DGM) to record their first full length album: “Illusion of Transparency”, which was released via Revalve Records in 2017.
In March 2018 AVELION supported the legendary ANGRA in Belgium, the Netherlands, France, Spain and Portugal. The dates also featured Geoff Tate’s Operation: Mindcrime as special guest.
In May 2018 the band released the single “Echoes and Fragments” REMIX featuring the Electro Metal artist The Algorithm.
Following a widespread approval from both critics and fans, the band kept playing live opening for Primal Fear, Lacuna Coil and Kiko Loureiro.
At the end of 2019 the band parted ways with the frontman William Verderi. Following the split, AVELION started composing new songs for their next musical chapters.

Related posts

AVELION – Italian progressive metallers share new single “Alone in Time”


AVELION – Italian progressive metallers release music video for latest single “Bound To Blackness”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More