SPIRIT ADRIFT reveal epic new song “Mass Formation Psychosis”, taken from “20 Centuries Gone”

(Photo credit: Dave Creaney)

“SPIRIT ADRIFT are still ready to take on the world” – SPIN

SPIRIT ADRIFT expand their prolific catalogue with “20 Centuries Gone”, a collection of two new original songs and six cover songs that span the timeline of the band’s most foundational influences. Featuring artwork by Brian Mercer (Lamb of God, High on Fire, Mastodon), and mixed by Zeuss (Overkill, Crowbar, Municipal Waste), this release is a powerful journey through the past, present, and future of trad-metal’s most exciting new band.

Available on August 19th via Century Media, “20 Centuries Gone” sees SPIRIT ADRIFT put their trademark swagger on classics from Type O Negative, Pantera, Metallica, Thin Lizzy, ZZ Top and Lynyrd Skynyrd – check out the track listing below.

Today, SPIRIT ADRIFT have premiered the second of the original tracks – “Mass Formation Psychosis”. The 6+ minute-long epic waxes and wanes like only SPIRIT ADRIFT can.
Listen to (+ share) “Mass Formation Psychosis (Lyric Video)” on YouTube:

SPIRIT ADRIFT mastermind Nate Garrett comments: “I always thought it would be a cool experience to record some songs by bands that are foundational to the DNA of SPIRIT ADRIFT. These choices are obvious and on the nose to me, but maybe unexpected to the fans. That made the whole thing a lot of fun. A band like Lynyrd Skynyrd might not be the first thing you think of when considering SPIRIT ADRIFT’s influences, so the task for me became figuring out how to honor these great songs, but in the distinct SPIRIT ADRIFT style. To make the whole thing even more special, I channelled these influences and wrote a couple of new songs to kick things off.”

SPIRIT ADRIFT will tour in support of “20 Centuries Gone” in the US this July and August, on the road with Crowbar. Check out all tour dates listed below.

Pre-order “20 Centuries Gone” under the following link:

The following formats are available:
Standard CD Jewelcase
black LP
300x lilac LP at CM Distro Wholesale EU, and Evil Greed
500x transp. sun yellow LP at US outlets
Digital album

SPIRIT ADRIFT, on tour with Crowbar:
July 26 Springfield, MO @ Outland Ballroom
July 27 St. Louis, MO @ Red Flag
July 28 Racine, WI @ Route 20
July 29 Minneapolis, MN @ Cabooze
July 30 Chicago, IL @ Cobra Lounge 
July 31 Ft. Wayne, IN @ Piere’s
August 2 Indianapolis, IN @ Emerson Theater
August 3 Columbus, OH @ King Of Cups
August 4 Rochester, NY @ Montage Music Hall
August 6 Poughkeepsie, NY @ The Chance Theater
August 9 Brooklyn, NY @ Saint Vitus
August 10 Atlantic City, NJ @ Anchor Rock Club
August 11 Reading, PA @ Reverb
August 12 Huntington, WV @ The Loud
August 13 Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry
August 14 Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506
August 16 Jacksonville, FL @ Archetype
August 17 Miami, FL @ Gramps
August 18 Orlando, FL @ Will’s Pub
August 19 Ft. Walton Beach, FL @ Downtown Music Hall
August 20 Mobile, AL @ Soul Kitchen
August 21 Baton Rouge, LA @ Chelsea’s Live
August 23 Athens, GA @ 40 Watt
August 24 Virginia Beach, VA @ Elevation 27
August 26 Albany, NY @ Empire Underground
August 27 Worcester, MA @ Tattoo The Earth

SPIRIT ADRIFT’’s touring line-up is:
Nate Garrett – guitar & vocals
Tom Draper – guitar
Sonny DeCarlo – bass
Michael Arellano – drums

Revisit SPIRIT ADRIFT’s “Sorcerer’s Fate” visualizer on YouTube:

Revisit SPIRIT ADRIFT’s cover of Pantera’s “Hollow” on YouTube:

SPIRIT ADRIFT_cover220420

“20 Centuries Gone”, track listing:
1. Sorcerer’s Fate
2. Mass Formation Psychosis
3. Everything Dies (Type O Negative)
4. Hollow (Pantera)
5. Escape (Metallica)
6. Waiting for an Alibi (Thin Lizzy)
7. Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings (ZZ Top)
8. Poison Whiskey (Lynyrd Skynyrd)


Related posts

SPIRIT ADRIFT new single/video Barn Burner, pre-order starts today!


SPIRIT ADRIFT anounces new full-length Album, first single now!


SPIRIT ADRIFT announce “20 Centuries Gon”, Premiere “Sorcerer’s Fate”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More