Sweden’s AN ABSTRACT ILLUSION to Release ‘Woe’ On Willowtip in September


Progressive/Atmospheric Death/Black Metal trio AN ABSTRACT ILLUSION will release sophomore full-length album Woe September 9 on Willowtip Records. Invisible Oranges has premiered the lyric video for the album’s first single, “Slaves” (out everywhere on July 1). Click the link below to check it out!

Six years after a highly praised full-length debut album (Illuminate The Path), AN ABSTRACT ILLUSION return with their second album Woe. A giant and intricate slab of atmospheric death metal inspired by black metal, progressive rock and electronica, Woe offers up some of AN ABSTRACT ILLUSION’s most accomplished melodies and riffs to date. A 60-minute song divided into seven pieces, combining beauty and brutality in a unique way, the album’s musical depth is a feat to behold, one that will remain lodged in the psyche long after the final note is heard. Let the waves wash over you, the behemoth has awoken…

 Artwork was done by Adam Burke (Sólstafir, Vektor, Barren Earth, First Fragment, Gatecreeper and many more).

Mixing/mastering was done by Robin Leijon (Equilibrium, ATENA, and In Dying Arms).

Track Listing:

1. The Behemoth That Lies Asleep

2. Slaves

3. Tear Down This Holy Mountain

4. Prosperity

5. Blomsterkrans

6. In The Heavens Above, You Will Become A Monster

7. This Torment Has No End, Only New Beginnings



Christian Berglönn – Vocals

Karl Westerlund – Guitars & Bass

Robert Stenvall – Keyboards & Vocals


Chaos meets atmosphere, brutality meets beauty. That’s two ways of describing An Abstract Illusion’s ambient-influenced Death Metal.

Hailing from northern Sweden, An Abstract Illusion was formed in 2007. This trio draws inspiration from genres such as electronica, indie and folk, which makes for wildly varied music where no song is the same as the other.

In the summer of 2014 the group released their debut EP Atonement is Nigh, garnering interest from all over the world. In July 2016 the band released their debut full length, Illuminate The Path.

Related posts

AN ABSTRACT ILLUSION Presents The ‘Woe’ Pre-Release Album Stream


AN ABSTRACT ILLUSION Premieres “In The Heavens Above, You Will Become A Monster”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.