BULL ELEPHANT Offshoot THŪN Releases II / Album Streaming

BULL ELEPHANT_cover220701

International metal collective THŪN have released sophomore album II on Eat Lead and Die Music. Stream/purchase at the following link:

THŪN features Jon Higgs (guitar/vocals) and Hugo Wilkinson (bass) of MONSTERWORKS, alongside James Knoerl (drums, GARGOYL. Guest lead guitar was once again smashed out of the park by Karl Sanders of NILE.

“Thūn is back with the second volume of dystopian doom metal. And the music has grown heavier and angrier with an eleventh-hour-feel looming over the heavy sonics.”
– Veil of Sound

“Stuffed with plodding and thunderous riffs as the music crawls along. A doom meets death metal approach leading to an epic feeling style. Doom and Cthulhu are an award winning combination that Thun uses to their advantage.”
– Ghost Cult Magazine

“A quality blend of death and doom.”
– Heavy Matters

“The group stomps their way through a doom/death metal hybrid. This is music with a message, one that has its sights set on the future of this planet.”
– Heavy Music Headquarters

“Focuses on thunderous and cracking doom metal. The music is great!”
– Flying Fiddlesticks

“Great fucking album!”
– WRUV Radio

“Death Metal, Doom Metal, Thrash Metal, and Heavy Metal. Thūn’s II is daring in many ways.”
– Metallerium

THŪN’s flavor could be described as epic death metal, spiced by discordant doom …smothered with plenty of old school SABBATH and PRIEST influences.

The narrative concept is BULL ELEPHANT adjacent (an entity also part of the greater Eat Lead and Die Music collective), drawing from the same loosely Lovecraftian mythos but following the present-day adventures of an eco-witch-terrorist, i.e. rather than an undead Nazi-fighting pachyderm.* The enemy is every person or corporation that puts profit before preservation of the natural world. With tentacles.

THŪN is a virtual effort in that each musician, in the UK and US respectively, handled their own recording/production, with final mixing by Jon and dynamic mastering by Damian Herring (HORRENDOUS, Subterranean Watchtower Studios).

Track Listing:

  1. Where All Truths Lie
  2. Look to the Sea
  3. Kiss the Ground
  4. I Have Failed You
  5. …Completely
  6. Zero Growth
  7. Final Cut

Album Line-Up:

Jon Higgs – Guitar/Vocals

James Knoerl – Drums

Hugo Wilkinson – Bass

Karl Sanders – Lead Guitar

Related posts

Anonymous UK Death-Doomsters BULL ELEPHANT Release Video for “Expansion from Perceived Reality”


Anonymous Death-Doomsters BULL ELEPHANT to release ‘The Long War’ on November 17


BULL ELEPHANT’s ‘Created From Death’ Out Now and Streaming


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More