PHOBOPHILIC premiere new single and music video, ‘Nauseating Despair’

Photographer credit: Andy Wilcox

PHOBOPHILIC are today premiering their new single and music video Nauseating Despair via DecibelNauseating Despair is the second track to be taken from their forthcoming debut album, Enveloping Absurdity, set to be released via Prosthetic Records on September 16 and sees the death metal group continue to explore philosophical schools of absurdism and existentialism.


Nauseating Despair will be available on all streaming platforms tomorrow (Friday, July 8).
Pre-orders for Enveloping Absurdity are available here.

Speaking on the track and music video premiere, the band comments: “Nauseating Despair is one of, if not the song we’re most proud of on the record and is the best representation of the album as a whole. It’s about a sudden and extreme self awareness Sartre describes as “nausea”. Once you’ve made this realization about the absurdity of life, there is no going back; it’s truly horrifying. In the video, we wanted to express this feeling and the jarring transition toward a state of acceptance through the frantic editing style which continues to build in intensity until the final moments of the song.”

Formed in 2016, PHOBOPHLIC have steadily accumulated early releases in the shape of two demos, 2019’s Undimensioned Identities EP and a split release with Canada’s Sedimentum, all the while honing their craft out across the North American touring circuit – featuring live stints with Gatecreeper and Mutilatred respectively, as well as appearances at LDB Fest and Philadelphia Death Nexus – positioning themselves among US death metals most intriguing young acts.

Following their early productivity both in studio and on the road, PHOBOPHILIC pulled together to shape Enveloping Absurdity’s eight songs into existence. Shunning the fantastical in favour of lived human reality, the band opted to center their gaze on what it is to exist. Drawing from French writers Albert Camus and Jean-Paul Sartre as well as Germany’s Fredrich Nietzche’s strains of philosophical thought, Enveloping Absurdity is a meticulous vivisection of the philosophical self and purpose, as it asks fundamental questions of life’s true meaning.

PHOBOPHILIC’s formative promise is fully captured with a stellar production job that retains their to-the-bone intensity, but allows room for the underlying grandiosity of their compositions, thanks to Adam Tucker at Signaturetone Recording in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The artwork was then licensed from Finnish illustrator Joonas Räsänen at EvM Art, as the band sought to marry Enveloping Absurdity’s overarching thematic ponderance with aesthetic totality.

On their debut long player PHOBOPHILIC rebel against notions of defeat and pessimism, in spite of the struggles that come with an overabundance of consciousness, to a profound embrace of that which ails as well as thrills. At the beating heart of Enveloping Absurdity’s sonic extremity is a victory of the self, not content with simply surviving, but choosing to live.


Enveloping Absurdity tracklist:
1. Enantiodromia
2. Those Which Stare Back
3. Nauseating Despair
4. Cathedrals of Blood (Twilight of the Idols)
5. Individuation
6. The Illusion of Self
7. Survive in Obscurity
8. Enveloping Absurdity

Aaron Dudgeon –  guitars and vocals
Josh Poer – guitars
Christian Alm – bass
Vincent Tweten – drums

Related posts

PHOBOPHILIC share new single and music video, ‘Survive in Obscurity’


PHOBOPHILIC announce new album, ‘Enveloping Absurdity’; Lead single, ‘Those Which Stare Back’, premiering now


PHOBOPHILIC sign to Prosthetic Records


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.