Melbourne Death Metallers SCAPHIS Release Brutal New Album ‘Dissected & Fermented’


Melbourne death metal rising stars Scaphis return with their blackened sophomore album ‘Dissected & Fermented’. Just as the name suggests, this aggressive & brutal masterpiece is steeped in horror themes with hammering hooks, bludgeoning breakdowns, thunderous percussion and spine-chilling vocals. Vocalist Spyke Jagerkrieg delivers powerful melodies from the deepest depths of inhumane gutturals, continuing to push the boundaries of horror through her lyricism.

Guitarist Josh Ristrom speaks: “This release is something we have all worked very hard towards releasing.The foundation was written within the first lockdown from the virus when motivation was equal only to the confusion and anxiety of this unknown pandemic. We used what we had learned from the first album and built on that to create something so much more. I feel this album shows our sound really maturing into what Scaphis is all about, and have had a lot of fun creating it. The album has its usual intense/fast moments that we enjoy to play, but also a lot more laid back sections with plenty of melody thrown into the mix. I hope that you all will enjoy it as much as we did while creating it!”


Scaphis unleashing a torrent of death metal abuse, with blackened undertones, in thrilling style” – Games, Brrraaains & A Head-Banging Life

“Dissected and Fermented is a bona fide barn burner” –Sono Muerto

“The result is one of the most listenable and, well, just straight-up interesting listening experiences of the year to date!” – Sentinel Daily

Scaphis made an impressive debut with their album Rituals of Torture and Death’ in 2017 followed by a string of national shows including support slots for Bloodbath & Sinsaenum. Their latest singles  ‘Blood Eagle’, ‘Plague’ & the title track have been garnering global coverage and airplay on Heavy Mag, Amnplify, Triple J, Moshville Times and more. With the release of their sophomore album, Dissected & Fermented’ and a year jam-packed with shows, Scaphis are set to reach new heights in the heavy music realm.

‘Dissected & Fermented’ is out now via

1. Gathering
2. Broken By The Wheel
3. The Hunt
4. Let Me Out
5. Plague
6. All For You
7. Tower Of The Damned
8. Blood Eagle
9. Flesh Prison
10. Homicidal
11. Dissected & Fermented


Related posts

Melbourne Death Metallers SCAPHIS Release Brutal New Single ‘Plague’


Melbourne Death Metallers SCAPHIS Announce New Album ‘Dissected & Fermented’ & Release Title Track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More