Finland’s BLOOD CHALICE set release date for new WEREWOLF album, reveal first track


Werewolf Records sets September 9th as the international release date for the highly anticipated second album of Finland’s Blood ChaliceThe Blasphemous Psalms of Cannibalism, on CD and cassette tape formats. The vinyl LP version will follow later this year.

Formed in 2015, Blood Chalice feature among their ranks a number of Finnish metal veterans, spanning a slew of extreme styles. However, in Blood Chalice, the goal has always remained firm: uncompromising, closeminded BLACK/DEATH savagery. The first strike as such came in 2016 with a self-titled demo, followed the next year by the gutsfucking debut album Sepulchral Chants of Self-Destruction. Diehards hailed the album; the rest recoiled in horror. Typical “Finnish black metal” this was not…

And Blood Chalice further drive home that point, five years later, with their second full-length, The Blasphemous Psalms of Cannibalism. Indeed, they honor ancient Finnish roots by (gutsfuckingly) leaning on the noble foundation laid forth by early Impaled Nazarene, Archgoat, Belial, and even Mythos, so muscular and still-death-metalled is Blood Chalice‘s thrust. And, just like those scene legends did so long ago, Blood Chalice keep memorability at a maximum – nearly as much as the savagery itself, which reaches critical mass on The Blasphemous Psalms of Cannibalism – and evince a short/sharp/shocked style of songwriting gleaned from those pillars’ grounding in early grindcore. No more but certainly no less, this is trend-free OLD black metal brewed with disdain for the nowadays scene.

Take it or leave it, Blood Chalice don’t care. Drink deeply of The Blasphemous Psalms of Cannibalism.

Begin drinking deeply of the brand-new track “From the Grave of Livyatan” HERE at Werewolf Records‘ official YouTube channel. Preorder info can be found HERE. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Blood Chalice (Finland)’s The Blasphemous Psalms of Cannibalism
1. The Black Mass
2. The Last Supper of Insects
3. Antichristian War Declaration
4. Matanbuchus
5. Burned Faith
6. Celestial Destroyer
7. The Blasphemous Psalms of Cannibalism
8. Blood Worship
9. Hate Meditation
10. Temet Nosce
11. From the Grave of Livyatan
12. The Rise of Iconoclast


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More