Melodic Death Metal Force BRYMIR Release Second Single “Herald of Aegir” + Lyric Video

[photo credit: Janica Lönn]

The next band to watch in modern melodic death metal!

Melodic death metal force BRYMIR are set to release their upcoming studio album and take a stand with Voices In The Sky, to be unveiled on August 26, 2022 via Napalm Records!
Today, after unleashing the official first single and album opening title track, “Voices in the Sky”, the Finnish five-piece – featuring lead guitarist Joona Björkroth (Battle Beast), frontman, writer and producer Viktor Storm Gullichsen, drummer Patrik Fält (Feastem, ex-Afgrund), guitarist Sean Haslam and bassist Jarkko Niemiunveils – presents the second exciting new single, entitled “Herald of Aegir”.
The passionate offering comes along with a visually palpable lyric video and skillfully portrays BRYMIR’s multifaceted nature, combining tight guitar lines and delicate orchestration with a dark and raging melodic death metal storm fueled by Viktor Gullichsen furious vocal attack. The song´s storyline is a mythology-adorned stance against the destruction of our environment and the pollution of our oceans, a strong message transported throughout their music.
Viktor Gullichsen on the album and second single:
“Growing up in Finland, the land of a thousand lakes, I’ve always had a special relationship with water. I spent a big part of my childhood in the archipelago, eating what fish we caught – but today the fish are mostly gone and if we keep polluting the oceans there will soon be nothing left. This song is a reminder that we are approaching a point of no return, especially for some of the more sensitive species. The song’s title refers to salmon, the finest catch of our ancestors and the greatest beast lurking in the depths of the Baltic Sea – but perhaps they won’t be around for much longer… Treat our oceans with respect – or the Herald of Aegir will get you!”

Voices In The Sky marks a hefty next level creation in the vein of EnsiferumWintersun and Children Of Bodom, but serves as a more modernized answer to the melodic death metal equation with massive production, deep grooves and air-tight technicality. Nevertheless, BRYMIR continues to draw inspiration from traditional genres like folk and classical music, all brought together perfectly at the hands of the band and producer mastermind and singer Viktor Storm Gullichsen at JKB Studios, with mastering helmed by Tony Lindgren at Fascination Street Studios.

Pre-order Voices In The Sky NOW:


After the album opening title track, BRYMIR‘s outrageous outburst continues with full speed on “Forged in War”, featuring additional vocals of live session guitarist Antti Nieminen, who also contributes to folk metal-reinforced “Far From Home”. “Seeds of Downfall”, the record’s most aggressive and gloomy track, doesn’t lack once in the majestic arrangement arena – merging with heroic choirs and, together with “Landfall”, represents the technical brilliance of the unit at its best. Heavily catchy “Fly with Me” proves the band’s remarkable ability to combine immense, clear, earworm choruses with furious growls and heavy breakdowns, while tracks like “Herald of Aegir” – a mythology-adorned stance against pollution of our oceans – and “Rift Between Us” approach the more power metal-inflamed facet of the Finnish juggernauts while still rooted in the melodic death metal segment. The excursion continues with heartfelt “Borderland”, featuring intense lyricism underlined by the poem “My Testament” by renowned Ukrainian poet Taras Schevchenko.
Voices In The Sky closes with both the nearly eight-minute epic “All as One” and a raging bonus cover of Dark Funeral’s “Diabolis Interium” that hits as grimly as the original. On this 11-track piece, BRYMIR combines the best of their defining elements to a greater good, showcasing that they are at the very top of their game and ready to enter the next level in their promising journey!

Voices In The Sky track listing:
1. Voices in the Sky
2. Forged in War
3. Fly with Me
4. Herald of Aegir
5. Rift Between Us
6. Landfall
7. Borderland
8. Far from Home
9. Seeds of Downfall
10. All as One
11. Diabolis Interium (Bonus)
Voices In The Sky will be available in the following formats:
1-CD Digisleeve (6 Panels)
1-CD Digisleeve + Shirt
Digital Album

Viktor Gullichsen – vocals
Joona Björkroth – guitars, backing vocals
Sean Haslam – guitars
Jarkko Niemi – bass, backing vocals
Patrik Fält – drums

BRYMIR online:
Napalm Records

Related posts

Finnish Melodic Death Metal Force BRYMIR Unveils Performance Music Video for “Seeds Of Downfall”


Melodic Death Metal Outfit BRYMIR Releases New Lyric Video for “Forged in War”


Melodic Death Metal Juggernauts BRYMIR Release Third Single “Fly With Me” + Official Video


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More