DAEVA – Philadelphia Black/Thrash Metal Quartet To Release Debut LP, Through Sheer Will And Black Magic…, Via 20 Buck Spin In October

photos by Scott Kinkade

Five years on from the wantonly indecent 20 Buck Spin-released debut EP, Pulsing Dark Absorptions, Philadelphia’s DAEVA rises like blistering flames from the hellish depths with the long-smoldering debut album, Through Sheer Will And Black Magic… 

A fiery maelstrom of early demonic black metal and jagged edge thrash convulsions forms the inherent basis of the album, where DAEVA have perfected their art like gleaming forged steel, the band featuring three members of Crypt Sermon, among other acts. Within this blueprint for madness, guitarist Steve Jansson imposes a deliberate brandishing of death metal’s maggot-strewn corpse and a vigorously lethal dose of pure ‘80s metal spirit and zeal. The journey through these scorched wastelands persistently guided by the venomously inventive acid-tongue of vocalist Edward Gonet.

Song after song, riff after riff, Through Sheer Will And Black Magic… is an insatiable and unstoppable whirlwind of unearthly pleasures and infernal butchery. Storming the gates of heaven with voracious exhilaration DAEVA inflicts the ultimate triumph of hell upon the feeble sheep of the light.

Produced, mixed, and mastered by Arthur Rizk (Gravesend, Dream Unending, Eternal Champion, Power Trip, Kreator) at Redwoods in Philadelphia, Through Sheer Will And Black Magic… is visually delivered with the rare painting style artwork by Karmazid (Mournful Congregation, Egregore), layout by Dan Fried, photography by Scott Kinkade, and logo by Misanthropic Art.

Fans of Aura Noir, Nifelheim, Dodheimsgard’s Monumental Possession, Condor, Bathory, Slayer, Voivod, Egregore, Predatory Light, Hulder, Darkthrone, and Dark Angel should not miss DAEVA’s Through Sheer Will And Black Magic… 

With the maiden single from Through Sheer Will And Black Magic…, “Arena At Dis,” the band writes, “As the darkness draws near, storied warriors enter the battleground to fight for Satan’s favor. Enter the fire! This is the Arena at Dis!”

Stream DAEVA’s “Arena At Dis” at YouTube HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

20 Buck Spin will release the album on LP, CD, cassette, and digital formats on October 14th. Digital preorders are live at Bandcamp HERE, and physical preorders/merch will post in the days ahead.


Through Sheer Will And Black Magic… Track Listing:

1. Intro (Emanations)

2. The Architect And The Monument

3. Arena At Dis

4. Passion Under The Hammer

5. Loosen The Tongue Of The Dead

6. Fragmenting In Ritual Splendor

7. Polluting The Sanctuary (Revolutions Against Faith)

8. Itch Of The Bottle

9. Luciferian Return


Steve Jansson – guitars

Edward Gonet – vocals

Frank Chin – bass

Enrique Sagarnaga – drums

Related posts

DAEVA – Through Sheer Will And Black Magic… Now Streaming In Its Entirety; Crushing Black/Thrash LP From Members Of Crypt Sermon And More Sees Release Friday Through 20 Buck Spin


DAEVA – “Polluting The Sanctuary (Revolutions Against Faith)” Video Playing


DAEVA – “Passion Under The Hammer” By Philadelphia Quartet With Members Of Crypt Sermon Streaming


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More