ACEPHALIX Releases “Innards Of Divinity” Single; Bay Area Death/Crust Act With Vastum, Chthonic Deity, Ensepulcher Members To Release Theothanatology LP Through 20 Buck Spin This Month

photos by Adam Houmam

San Francisco-based death/crust metal act ACEPHALIX has slabbed the third single from their goring fourth LP, Theothanatology, nearing release through 20 Buck Spin at the end of September.

ACEPHALIX awakens from five years in morbid repose with a new offering upon the glistening altar of flesh, a devastatingly tormented study on Theothanatology, the idea or belief that God is dead. Within this cerebrum shattering inquiry lies, as always, a primal spewing forth of vicious death metal malignity and bomb-raid hardcore dispersions. Across a decade-and-a-half lifespan, the evolution of ACEPHALIX into the bludgeoning instrument of discord and dead faith displayed on Theothanatology has never felt so urgent. The crumbling siege-like mentality of modern life leaves no doubt God has left the building and ACEPHALIX adeptly soundtracks the contradictions, atrocity, and inner turmoil of such massive loss and decay.

Theothanatology sees ACEPHALIX returning to a quintet for the first time since their debut LP Aporia, the current lineup enlisting vocalist Daniel Butler (Vastum), drummer David Benson (Lawless, Said Sara), bassist Erika Osterhout (Chthonic Deity, Scolex), and guitarists Adam Camara (Ensepulcher, Battleshök) and Adam Walker (Kata Sarka, ex-Fog, ex-Graves Of The Endless Fall). ACEPHALIX is razor-focused on its greatest strengths, commanding the unambiguous sonic pulverizing of a bulldozer over the decimated skull pile of a once thriving civilization on Theothanatology, simultaneously more musically complex and savagely barbaric, heralding a collapse already in motion.

Created with Grammy Award-winning producer Greg Wilkinson at Earhammer (Fetid, Vastum, Ulthar, Undergang), Theothanatology‘s cover features the painting Girolamus Trasfiguratio by Ettore Aldo Del Vigo, completed with photos by Adam Houmam and layout by Dan Fried. ACEPHALIX is mandatory listening for fans of Vastum, Necrot, Entombed, Discharge, Undergang, Grave, Ossuarium, Slayer, Depravity, and Adramalech.

Vocalist Daniel Butler blatantly states, “‘Innards Of Divinity’ is about being spiritually gutted.”

Stream ACEPHALIX’ Theothanatology track “Innards Of Divinity” now at THIS LOCATION.

20 Buck Spin will release Theothanatology on LP, CD, cassette, and digital platforms on September 30th. Find preorders at the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Following their crushing performance at Kill-Town Death Fest in Copenhagen this past weekend, ACEPHALIX will announce additional live dates shortly. The band is confirmed to host an upcoming Gimme Metal Guest DJ slot on Friday, October 14th.

Related posts

ACEPHALIX – San Francisco Death/Crust Metal Quintet Bearing Members Of Vastum, Chthonic Deity, And Ensepulcher Streams Fourth LP, Theothanatology, Out This Friday On 20 Buck Spin


ACEPHALIX – Decibel Magazine Premieres “Godheads” Single From Bay Area Death Metal Quintet


ACEPHALIX – New Album ‘Theothanatology’ via 20 Buck Spin – Details & Trackstream


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More