SLUGCRUST premiere new album, ‘Ecocide’, in full

Photographer credit: Zakary Thornton

South Carolina grind quartet SLUGCRUST are today premiering their debut album, Ecocide, in full via Decibel ahead of its official release on all streaming platforms tomorrow (Friday, September 9). SLUGCRUST’s grindcore bludgeon deals with themes of ecological negligence, political unrest and human greed across their debut’s 12 tracks, marking Ecocide out as an uncompromising calling card from a band eager to unleash.

SLUGCRUST will be performing at Full Terror Assault in support of Ecocide as well as making an appearance at Knotfest’s Pulse of the Maggots Twitch stream on September 12 – more details below.

Ecocide will be available on all streaming platforms tomorrow (September 9).
Pre-order Ecocide here.

Speaking on the single, SLUGCRUST comment: “Ecocide, by definition, is the destruction of natural environment resulting from deliberate/negligent human activity, especially ascribed to war crimes yet to be ratified as such by the United Nations. The album is not designed to be qualitatively geopolitical in its entirety, however, and does not take aim at one subject alone. Ecocide uses raw blasts, gut-checking riffs, and unsanctioned aggression to seek out the blatant instances of character flaw in human nature and the effects of our innate depravity, made apparent throughout the Anthropocene. 

“To us, Ecocide represents our rebirth as artists, gnawing our way to the surface of an unforgiving scorched earth that has been our lives these past few years. We’ll be at Full Terror Assault when this record drops on 9/9/22 (playing FTA 9/10/22 @ 6:05pm CDT), but that will just be the firing of a gun before the race, showcasing that scorched earth foundation we only want to build upon in years to come. We sincerely hope you fuckers enjoy it.”

With two ferocious EPs already under their belts, the breakneck speed with which SLUGCRUST operate gives a fair indicator of their approach. However, their focus isn’t compromised by their accelerated work ethic; if anything the urgency of their message is given further impetus courtesy of their relentless audio violence. Drawing from various literary inspirations the political issues at the heart of SLUGCRUST’s output is given a darkly poetic twist.

SLUGCRUST – whose line up features members of WVRM – seeks to bring political issues to light in a way that galvanises action and activism. The title derives from the process of destroying environmental structures or ecosystems, either via natural means or – as is more pertinent in the case of this album – deliberate human actions. Depravity is a recurring theme throughout the lyrics; emotional and physical immorality and degeneracy permeates the twelve tracks that make up Ecocide.

The formation of all SLUGCRUST tracks start with the skeleton of the drums; the meat and muscle of each missive comes from the guitar and bass, with the lyrics and vocals being the skin binding it all together. The album was engineered by guitarist Derick Caperton, before being mixed and mastered by Cody Davidson of Sanguisugabogg. Although primarily embedded in grindcore, SLUGCRUST also dabbles in crust punk and even doom to bring together their ominous, explosive take on extreme metal. Embracing the rawness of punk with the familiar ferocity of blast beats is the foundation of their work.

Upcoming SLUGCRUST shows:
Sept 2 – El Rocko Lounge – Savannah, GA
Sept 3 – Catacombs – Atlanta, GA
Sept 4 – Skylark Social Club – Charlotte, NC
Sept 5 – Crossroads – Murfreesboro, TN
Sept 6 – No Class – Cleveland, OH
Sept 7 – Magoos – Bedford Park, IL
Sept 10 – Full Terror Assault – Cave-In-Rock, IL

SLUGCRUST will be making an appearance via Knotfest’s Pulse of the Maggots Twitch show on September 12 at 2:15pm PT / 5:15pm ET – set a reminder here.


Ecocide tracklist:
1. Demise Promise
2. Drag Me to Agony
3. Buzzard Czar
4.  No Heirs / Dead Souls
5. Echoless
6. Arachno-Mariticide
7. Petrochemical
8. Scoundrel / Wraith
9. Swamp Mind
10. Juris Domina
11. Ecocide
12. Event Horizon

Jesse Cole – Vocals 
Derick Caperton – Guitar 
Brett Terrapin – Drums 
Stacey Williams – Bass

Related posts

Deathgrind Destructors SLUGCRUST Launch New Single “V4”


SLUGCRUST Launches New Single “Feral Natural” with Explosive Music Video; Announces New EP


SLUGCRUST share new music video, ‘Ecocide’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More