RIPPED TO SHREDS share new song “漢奸 Race Traitor”


“Chock full of scathing vocals, chainsaw guitars, and a brand new chapter of the ongoing “Sun Moon Holy Cult” saga, 劇變 (Jubian) showcases Ripped To Shreds’ signature brutal-yet-melodic style at full chisel.” – Decibel Magazine

West Coast death metal trailblazers RIPPED TO SHREDS announce their Relapse debut full-length 劇變 (Jubian), out October 14th.

Today,RIPPED TO SHREDS share a new song “漢奸 (Race Traitor)” on YouTube HERE.

Frontman Andrew Lee comments: “I’ve been a melodeath fan from day one, so Race Traitor is my take on Eucharist/Intestine Baalism style melodeath. The lyrics here directly speak to the experience of existing as a minority in a country where any action is seen as representative of their whole race.”

劇變 (Jubian) physical preorders on CD, LP, and cassette are available via HERE. Find digital downloads/streaming options HERE.

Additionally, RIPPED TO SHREDS will perform at Bloodshed Fest in The Netherlands April 29-30, 2023! Stay tuned for more RIPPED TO SHREDS live performance announcements in the near future.

RIPPED TO SHREDS “漢奸 (Race Traitor)”

Chainsaw guitars, relentless drumming, dizzying solos. and disgusting growling throughout, 劇變 (Jubian) is undeniably ripping death metal.

Led by guitarist/vocalist Andrew Lee, RIPPED TO SHREDS emerge from the West Coast underground with their ferocious new album, 劇變 (Jubian). The death metal trailblazers unleash their most fully realized and visceral work yet. Recorded, mixed by Lee in his home studio and mastered Damian at Subterranean Watchtower, 劇變 (Jubian) proves to be RIPPED TO SHREDS at their most focused and refined.

劇變 (Jubian) bursts wide open with “Violent Compulsion For Conquest,” an elegantly dark, new kind of chainsaw sound teeming with acidic vocals gnashing out lyrics inspired by the Mukden Incident. From its lightning-flash solos to those immensely killer echoing “Ough!”s, this absolute scather, according to Lee, was born to lead. Elsewhere, longtime RIPPED TO SHREDS fans will find the latest chapter of the ongoing “Sun Moon Holy Cult” saga to be its most thrilling episode thus far. One of the album’s most impressive and catchiest tracks, “漢奸 (Race Traitor),” represents that “straight-up melodeath” banger Lee says he’s always wanted to produce while also giving vent to his experience as a minority in America. The charring “Reek Of Burning Freedom,” Lee notes, is “an anti-war song” that incites to remind its discerning listers of the United States’ “indiscriminate bombing” campaign waged on North Korea during the Korean War.

All of the intensity of power coursing through 劇變 (Jubian) is somehow perfectly captured and rendered by Chinese artist Guang Yang, who also painted the cover of the last RIPPED TO SHREDS album. The statue on the cover is Mazu, the Taiwanese sea goddess. The setting of the painting was inspired by several of the local temples Lee has visited in Taiwan. “I felt like it was important to have something standing in for Chinese people,” Lee says. “The cultural context and impact of RIPPED TO SHREDS as a Taiwanese-American band cannot be understated; Lee declares that a driving force behind RIPPED TO SHREDS has been “to increase the visibility of ABCs [American-born Chinese] in extreme metal by being very blatantly Chinese.”


劇變 (Jubian) Track Listing:

1. Violent Compulsion For Conquest
2. Split Apart by Five Chariots
3. 獨孤九劍 日月神教第三節 (In Solitude – Sun Moon Holy Cult Pt 3)
4. Harmonious Impiety
5. 漢奸 (Race Traitor)
6. Reek Of Burning Freedom
7. Peregrination To The Unborn Eternal Mother
8. Scripture Containing The Supreme Internal Energy Arts That Render The Practitioner Invincible Throughout The Martial Realm

Watch the “Reek of Burning Freedom” music video 
(Directed by Kevin Burleigh) HERE.

Connect with RIPPED TO SHREDS:

Related posts

RIPPED TO SHREDS announce EU tour dates; New album out now


RIPPED TO SHREDS Shares New Song “Violent Compulsion For Conquest” Featuring Guest Guitar Solo By Dave Suzuki


RIPPED TO SHREDS to release new album 劇變 (Jubian) on October 14 via Relapse Records


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More