HIBERNUS MORTIS set release date for long-awaited BLOOD HARVEST comeback album, reveal first track – features GIGAN ex-member


Today, Blood Harvest Records announces November 25th as the international release date for Hibernus Mortis‘ long-awaited comeback album, The Monoliths of Cursed Slumber, on CD and cassette tape formats. The vinyl version will follow next year.

Formed in 1996 in south Florida, Hibernus Mortis were something of a cult fixture in the American death metal underground during the late ’90s. A demo and a live album spread their name across that underground, and their debut album, The Existing Realms of Perpetual Sorrow, finally arrived in 2002. An unreleased demo was recorded a year later, but sadly, the name Hibernus Mortis drifted into dust as lineup shuffles squandered the band’s momentum.

But, of course, DEATH metal is eternal (life is not!), and now Hibernus Mortis return from their graven slumber with a perfectly titled second album: The Monoliths of Cursed Slumber. With a revitalized lineup which features ex-Gigan guitarist Randy Piro and veteran drummer Cesar Placeres alongside OG members Ralf Varela (vox, guitar) and Yasser Morales (bass), Hibernus Mortis here create a gutsfucking whirlwind of authentically ’90s-vintage death metal. From downtuned gallop to cyclonic breakdown, from surge to slam, eerie dissonance to gutter-steeped doom, all pure ‘n’ proper bases are covered – and then brutally beaten down with cold, cruel precision. It’d be simple to say that The Monoliths of Cursed Slumber sounds like not a year has passed since the band’s original but….well, that’s pretty much the truth, and Hibernus Mortis swarm and crush with an intensity that belies their age. 

To restate the obvious, death metal is ETERNAL, and so is Hibernus Mortis‘ muse. Awaken and enter The Monoliths of Cursed Slumber!

Take the first step into those Monoliths with the brand-new track “Endless Dawns Of Somnambulant Exorcisms” HERE at Blood Harvest‘s Bandcamp. Preorder info can be found HERE. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:


Tracklisting for Hibernus Mortis’ The Monoliths of Cursed Slumber
1. Funebre:The Eternal Sleep (Intro)
2. Endless Dawns Of Somnambulant Exorcisms
3. To Drink The Blood Of The Black Sleep
4. Ascending The Catacombs
5. Grotesque Perishment Into The Miasma Of Darkness Everlasting
6. Vomitus Imperium
7. Enshrined In Spiritual Atrophy
8. Invocations Of Never
9. Vestigial Currents That Transcend The Ether Of Tenebrous Unconsciousness
Embedded Deep Within The Smoldering Embers Of Sempiternal Dusk (Outro)


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.