GROUND – New Jersey Grind/Death Metal Act To Issue Habitual Self-Abuse LP Via Hibernation Release In October

photo by Albert Rende

New Jersey-based GROUND will unveil their fifth LP, Habitual Self-Abuse, through Hibernation Release in October, today issuing its cover art, track listing, preorders, and more as Decibel Magazine premieres a video for the lead single, “Indurated Juvenescence.”

False grind godfathers GROUND formed in 2012 and have since released a plethora of recordings including four prior albums, a split with Bandit, and more. Now a decade in, the band returns with a vengeance on their most violent and ambitious offering, Habitual Self-Abuse. Seamlessly blending their signature brand of searing grindcore, punk, powerviolence and slam, GROUND funnels the futile rage and anxiety associated with modern existence into eleven tracks of pure, adrenaline-fueled auditory assault. With Habitual Self-Abuse, the band cements themselves as a key component of the thriving East Coast metal scene and further their legacy as torch bearers of the underground. False Grind Forever.

Habitual Self-Abuse was engineered in March 2022 by AJ Viana at AJ Viana Productions in Hulmeville, Pennsylvania, with additional editing by Tiago “Canadas” Carvalho. The album was mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege (Obituary, 200 Stab Wounds, R.A.M.B.O.) and completed with cover art by Tom Maher/Skull Bastard Art and photography by Albert Rende.

Decibel is hosting the exclusive video premiere of the video for the album’s first single, writing in part, “The first taste of the new album comes via the music video for ‘Indurated Juvenescence,’ which is basically a fancy way of saying ‘hardened youth.’ GROUND love powerviolence but they also love knuckledragger hardcore, combining the two for a track that blasts and grooves in equal measure. ‘Indurated Juvenescence’ hits even harder upon reading the lyrics, a candid expression of mental health.”

The band’s Mike Mayo states, “‘Indurated Juvenescence’ is about missing out on your youth because you’re too wrapped up in trying to work through undiagnosed/misunderstood mental health issues. The older you get, the more you realize how much you missed out on, and it could’ve all been avoided if seeking access to mental health care was made easier, more affordable, and didn’t have such a stigma attached to it. Frank Haung (Max Volume Silence) did an excellent job creating a visual representation of how governments and society intentionally mislead our troubled youth for their own agenda. Putting a firearm in the hands of someone with untreated mental health issues, whether they’re in the military, law enforcement, or they’re a civilian, can have catastrophic effects as we all unfortunately already know.”

Watch GROUND’s “Indurated Juvenescence” video first at Decibel Magazine RIGHT HERE.


Hibernation Release will issue Habitual Self-Abuse on CD, cassette, and all digital platforms on October 28th, with a deluxe vinyl edition to follow in early 2023. Preorders for all formats can be found at the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Stand by for additional previews of the album and more to post over the weeks ahead.

Habitual Self-Abuse Tracking List:

1. Injustice Collector

2. Couch Potato

3. Virtual Signal Boost

4. Shafted

5. Tastemaker

6. Stand-Up Guy

7. Habitual Self-Abuse

8. Mental Health Matters

9. Indurated Juvenescence

10. Digital Pacifier

11. Conscious Denial


Michael Thomas – bass/vocals

Mike Mayo – guitars/vocals

Phil Parenti – vocals

Zak Costello – drums/vocals

Related posts

GROUND – Habitual Self-Abuse LP By Savage New Jersey Grindcore/Slam Outfit Now Streaming At No Echo


GROUND – Metal Injection Premieres “Tastemaker” Single From New Jersey Grind/Death Crew


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More