MIST OF MISERY unleash the first single “Into The Embrace Of Winter”. New album “Severance” to be released on November 4th via Non Serviam Records

MIST OF MISERY_cover220923

Recently Swedish symphonic black metallers MIST OF MISERY announced their signing with one of the most passionate labels in the extreme metal, Non Serviam Records.
Today the Stockholm-based band unveils “Into The Embrace Of Winter”, the first single taken from their upcoming album “Severance” to be released via Non Serviam Records on November 4th 2022.


‘Into the Embrace of Winter’ is the fourth song from the new album and has all the characteristics of a Mist Of Misery song while showcasing the strides made in orchestral arrangements.”, comments the band.

“Severance” will be released as CD and digital. The pre-orders of the new album are available here:

“Severance” is the first MIST OF MISERY’s concept album, and it tells a tragic tale which takes place in 19th century rural England. It is filled with melancholy, grief and despair.
The band explains: “We are aware that it differs quite a bit from our previous albums but the core elements of Mist Of Misery are still very much present. We hope that it will satisfy our old fans and also bring in new fans. All the tracks for ‘Severance’ were written specifically to fit the story of the album as it is a concept album. Therefore we had to carefully match the atmosphere of the story and the individual songs as the story unfolds. The writing came naturally but we obviously had to carefully decide the order of the songs”.

“Severance” Track Listing:
1 – An Ode to Solitude
2 – The Long Road
3 – A Sombre Solace
4 – Into the Embrace of Winter
5 – A Wasted Life
6 – Through Night’s Gloom
7 – Oceans of Grief
8 – Severance
9 – Reflections
10 – Towards the Descent

MIST OF MISERY was formed by Mortuz Denatus (VANHELGA) in 2010 in the northern suburbs of Stockholm with the vision to create music that was based on melancholy, darkness, depression and atmosphere. The band released the EP “Bleak Autumn” EP, followed by the full-length album by the same name in 2011. The EP “Temple Of Stilled Voices” saw the light of the day in 2013. MIST OF MISERY released their second full-length entitled “Abscence” in 2016 which showcased the progression the band had made since their early days. Thanks to its blend of atmospheric black metal and symphonic and depressive elements, the album was very well received around the world getting tremendous reviews. Before its release, Livsnekaren had joined the band on drums and was soon followed by Tenebris (ex-VANHELGA and ex-GRÁ), who joined the band on bass for various live performances and later became a permanent member in 2017.
The band followed up the critically acclaimed album with two EP’s in 2017 entitled “Shackles of Life” and “Fields of Isolation”. The following years MIST OF MISERY performed at festivals in Bulgaria, Germany and Wales as well as various gigs in their own home country while writing their next album. The epic and grandiose double record “Unalterable” (2019) displayed the band’s evolved atmospheric sound. It garnered much praise and paved the way for another evolution in the soundscape of MIST OF MISERY, which was made evident when the band began working on a new album, along with the new singer Änglamakaren (Night Crowned).

The writing of their new effort took the band’s symphonic sound to new heights. MIST OF MISERY finished the recording of “Severance”  in early 2022 and soon signed with Non Serviam Records, with a planned release on November 4th 2022.


Änglamakaren – Vocals
Tenebris – Bass
Mortuz Denatus – Drums


Related posts

MIST OF MISERY unveil the second single “The Long Road”. New album “Severance” to be released on November 4th via Non Serviam Record


MIST OF MISERY – Swedish symphonic black metal band signs with Non Serviam Records


MIST OF MISERY – Album ‘Unalterable’ of Swedish symphonic/atmospheric black metal group out today via Black Lion Records


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More