EARTHRISE Releases New Single “The New Man”


Critically acclaimed post-metal band EARTHRISE has revealed their final single, “The New Man,” ahead of next week’s release of the band’s long-awaited sophomore album, “Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way,” due out October 14th. The “epic, crushing new single” was first revealed at, and is now available for streaming on all services.

Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way frames vignettes into the life and times of Laika, the first animal sent into Earth’s orbit. Each track on ‘UWRBTWW’ represents a slice in history, as she endured it. The album culminates with the launch of Sputnik II, the second major event in humanity’s reach to the heavens, symbolized by a lifeless canine body orbiting the Earth for months on end — a somber meditation on humanity’s innumerable self-inflicted tragedies, as if stuck in orbit, forever. 

“Our third single, The New Man, is the first track on the album and sets the political lens through which Laika’s story is viewed. After the successful launch of Sputnik I in October 1957 signified the dawning of the Space Age, Soviet premier Nikita Khrushchev gave a surprise announcement that Sputnik II would launch in November as a further demonstration of Soviet prowess. By establishing space superiority, Soviet leaders aimed to show that communism would allow The New Man to emerge – idealized citizens made possible by an overabundance of Soviet resources and scientific development. 

This idea of The New Man was propaganda. It soon became clear that advancements in the Space Race were not made solely in the name of scientific progress, but to exhibit capability of nuclear payload delivery. Soviet leaders intended to prove the USSR’S military dominance to the world and would not let anything stand in their way – least of all an insignificant stray dog. 

The New Man standing as a harbinger of nuclear catastrophe is the foundation upon which Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way is built.” – EARTHRISE

Stream “The New Man“:
-Apple Music –
-Bandcamp –
-Spotify –
-Youtube –

Pre-Order “Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way” –

Stream the previously released tracks below.

Our Work in the Stars Cannot Wait
-Apple Music:

From Below
-Apple Music:


“Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way” Tracklisting:

  1. The New Man
  2. From Below
  3. Hypervigilant
  4. Generation Loss
  5. Our Work in the Stars Cannot Wait
  6. Prisoner’s Cinema
  7. Engineers of the Human Soul
  8. Void Hymn
  9. Tears of Burning Light

Described by MetalSucks as “heavy-as-elephant-balls post-NeurIsis-y metal with dreamy, atmospheric guitars and sickly, downtuned doom riffs,” Earthrise was founded in 2010 by bassist Andy Rutledge, drummer Jimmy Neumann and guitarist Mike Britson (Former Worlds) who released their acclaimed debut, “Eras Lost,” in 2012. With the recent additions of Jim Schloemer on synth and Sam Halvorson on vocals, the band has emerged from a 10 year hiatus to release their cosmic followup “Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way” – a 71-minute proggy, crushingly heavy, space rock meets post metal behemoth.


Related posts

EARTHRISE Debut New Studio Video For “Hypervigilant”


EARTHRISE’s Riveting Space Tragedy,”Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way,” Is Out Now!


EARTHRISE Debuts Studio Video For New Single “From Below”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More