HARAKIRI FOR THE SKY Reveal New Music Video For “Mad World”


In the past decade, HARAKIRI FOR THE SKY have become pioneers of the post black metal movement, gained a significant worldwide following with “III: Trauma” and even entered the German charts on #4 with their latest album “Maere”. For the 10th anniversary of their debut album, the Austrian duo, consisting of multi-instrumentalist and songwriter M.S. as well as vocalist and lyricist J.J., will take a deep dive into their past:

Since the band was never fully happy with the production of their first two albums, “Harakiri For The Sky” and “Aokigahara”, they decided to not just remaster but fully re-record both releases in their entirety, together with longtime collaborator Krimh on drums and a re-designed cover artwork by Art Of Maquenda. The re-recorded versions will be released on December 9th via AOP Records.

“As some of you might know, we had produced these albums ourselves and wanted to re-do both with the recent possibilities that we have”, the duo explains. “We did our best to keep their original spirit, but added a vibe that seemed more fitting to the current standards of this band. Ten years ago, we couldn’t really imagine where this journey would lead us to, so redacting these first, but nevertheless very important tentative steps was something really dear to us.”

In order to get an impression of how these albums will sound when re-imagined in 2022, you can watch the new music video for the Tears For Fears cover ‘Mad World’, the rare bonus track from 2014’s “Aokigahara“:

The debut album will be available as:
– grey lim.99 via Napalm Records
– grey splatter lim.99 via EMP
– black & white ink spot lim.99 via AOP Records
– galaxy silver/ grey lim. 199 via AOP Records
– Digipak

Aokigahara” will be available as:
– black/ yellow ink spot lim. 199 via Napalm Records
– gold marbled lim. 199 via EMP
– A/side-B/side” vinyl effect in beer, bone, black with bone splatters lim.199 via AOP Records
– green cloudy vinyl lim. 199 USA exclusive via Indie Merch
– Digipak
– Boxset with exclusive patch, shot glass housed in hard carton with foam

Pre-order your copies here:
AOP Records (EU-Shop)
AOP Records (US-Shop)

Just recently, vocalist J.J. has also announced his first novel titled “Die Asche vergangener Winter” that you can also pre-order at the AOP shop:

“Some of you might already know, but during the great years of loss and agony I hid for a few months in a cabin in the woods, where I wrote a novel called “Die Asche vergangener Winter”, which will be released the same day via Edition Outbird”, he states. “There will also be an English version called “Snowburial”, translated by our guitarist Daniel Lang. Summaries of the book can be found on Edition Outbird’s website.“

M.S. – guitar, bass, songwriting
J.J. – vocals, lyrics 
Facebook | Instagram

Related posts

HARAKIRI FOR THE SKY’s Re-Recorded Self-Titled Album & “Aokigahara MMXXII” Out Now


HARAKIRI FOR THE SKY – re-recorded selftitled album and ‘Aokigahara MMXXII’ out now; EU & North American Tour for 2023


HARAKIRI FOR THE SKY Unveil New Re-Recorded Track “Homecoming: Denied” From ‘Aokigahara MMXXII’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More