THE BLEAK PICTURE – Finnish Duo Formed By Fall Of The Leafe And Autumnfall Members To Release Songs Of Longing EP Through Alone Records + Preorders Posted


Alone Records presents a deluxe vinyl version of Songs Of Longing, the debut EP by Finnish duo THE BLEAK PICTURE.

A place where Finish death/doom meets with England gothic rock formed following the no wave movement is the point of departure of the jaw dropping debut EP from THE BLEAK PICTURE, Songs Of Longing. Jussi Hänninen of missed cult act Fall Of The Leafe joins with Tero Ruohonen of Autumnfall in this absolutely must-hear act for fans of the genre that looks for something distinct without losing the essence.

Even as this music is rooted in the old-school it’s not simply a rehashing of the past, but a new beginning. Looking towards the future without forgetting the past, THE BLEAK PICTURE is a coin with two equal sides that point your destiny underground. A perfect mix of early Katatonia constructed by the lightning feeling of superb melodies of the keyboards and guitars sharp enough to cut permafrost. Mid-paced tempos with groovy keyboards in the same vein of Joy Division, Bauhaus, or Fields Of The Nephilim. It’s all met with a mix of vocal styles, with growls in the vein of Officium Triste mixed with clear passages drenched in anguish.

Self-recorded by Hänninen and Ruohonen, with session drummer Anssi Ikonen’s material recorded at Lucifuge Studio by Danil Venho, Songs Of Longing was mixed at DTT Äänitys by Danil Venha, mastered by Dan Swanö (Edge Of Sanity, Bloodbath) at Unisound AB, and completed with cover artwork photography by Tero Ruohonen and design/layout by by Jose Postigo for Alone Records.

A lyric video for the record’s “Absence Of Light” is playing RIGHT HERE.


Songs Of Longing was digitally self-released by THE BLEAK PICTURE last Fall, but now, Alone Records presents the album in physical incarnations, with 300 copies on Clear 12” vinyl as well as on CD, set for release on December 2nd. Find preorders at the US shop HERE, the EU shop HERE, and Bandcamp HERE.

Songs Of Longing Track Listing:

1. The Dead Beginners

2. Absence of Light

3. Tragedy’s Own

4. Broken Statues


Jussi Hänninen – guitars, bass, synths

Tero Ruohonen – vocals

Related posts

THE BLEAK PICTURE – Finnish melodic death-doom metallers premiere debut album “Meaningless”


THE BLEAK PICTURE – Finnish melodic death-doom metallers premiere “Lights of July” single, debut album “Meaningless” out in March


THE BLEAK PICTURE – Finnish melodic death-doom metallers to release debut album “Meaningless” in March


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More