THE GAUNTLET set release date for ETERNAL DEATH debut, reveal first track

Eternal Death announces January 13th, 2023 as the international release date for The Gauntlet‘s highly anticipated debut album, Dark Steel and Fire, on vinyl LP format.


The Gauntlet plays extreme heavy metal. The band was started in 2019 by Ace Meggido, with a first single previewing that year. 2020 would see another single release of “Old Lord,” which would later appear on The Gauntlet’s debut EP, War and Guilt, which saw a limited cassette release through Nihil Verum Nisi Mors Productions.

The Gauntlet’s style is difficult to describe in one word, and certainly is not what you might expect from the cover. The band has been described previously as pounding black metal, rocking death, or more jokingly as “stadium Bathory.”

Simply put, Dark Steel and Fire is extreme heavy metal. The musical synthesis of motorcycles and epic fantasy, this 9-track full-length covers a lot of unexpected ground while maintaining a coherent and consistent form. The Gauntlet takes influence from the past, and the nods to Bathory, Venom, and Celtic Frost are apparent throughout, but has its own distinct American identity.

Don The Gauntlet, fire up the chopper, and ride forth into Dark Steel and Fire!

Begin riding forth with the brand-new track “Beyond the Limits” HERE at Eternal Death‘s Bandcamp, where the album can also be preordered. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for The Gauntlet’s Dark Steel and Fire
1. Where Heroes Go To Die [4:51]
2. Beyond the Limits [3:20]
3. The Signal to Attack    [4:19]
4. Winds Without Mercy [3:39]
5. Damnation Calls With Haste [4:19]
6. Dark Steel and Fire [5:29]
7. The Final Guard [3:24]
8. Those Who Will Not Return [5:43]
9. Armoured Hearts [5:35]


Related posts

THE GAUNTLET premiere new track at


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More