OFDRYKKJA reveal new video from upcoming AOP RECORDS album


Today, sonic iconoclasts Ofdrykkja reveal the new video “Hårgalåten.” The track is the third single from the band’s highly anticipated fourth album, After the Storm, set for international release on November 25th via AOP Records. See & hear Ofdrykkja‘s “Hårgalåten” video in its entirety HERE at AOP Records‘ official YouTube channel.

It is no secret that the music of Ofdrykkja has never sounded quite the same. As the Swedish trio strive to keep evolving on a personal level, this is naturally reflected in their music, as well. While 2019’s preceding Gryningsvisor was more of a traditional atmospheric/ambient black metal album, the aptly titled After the Storm ventures away, off the beaten path, and proceeds to distance itself from some of the more traditional elements that are usually prominent in metal music. 

At once recognizably Ofdrykkja and something quite different altogether, the ever-solemn After the Storm plaintively emphasizes the band’s traditional Swedish folk side, along the way incorporating elements of post-rock, neofolk, and even dark pop. Mesmerizing and magical is this blend, but the band’s roots are never far away; in fact, Ofdrykkja argue the spirit of metal is still prominent across After the Storm. Naturally, the somber mood and atmosphere is one thing that has remained constant in their music throughout the years, and that is unlikely to change anytime soon, but never without the presence of hope. After the Storm gorgeously displays this presence, becoming a beam of light piercing through the darkness. Call Ofdrykkja what you will, but even at their quietest and most restrained, their power and poignancy is unchallenged.

In the meantime, see & hear the brand-new video for “Hårgalåten” HERE at AOP Records‘ official YouTube channel. Also hear the previously revealed “The Cleansing” HERE as well as the previously revealed “The Mære” HERE, both at AOP Records‘ official YouTube channel. Cover artwork, courtesy of Maéna Paillet, and tracklisting are as follows:


Tracklisting for Ofdrykkja’s After the Storm
1. The Light
02. Hårgalåten
3. The Mære
4. After the Storm
5. The Cleansing
6. Själavandring
7. Beyond the Belt of Orion


Related posts

Swedish band OFDRYKKJA unveil new exclusive song


OFDRYKKJA reveal second track new AOP RECORDS album – features COLDWORLD member


OFDRYKKJA set release date for new AOP RECORDS album, reveal first video


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More