IRON VOID set release date for new SHADOW KINGDOM album, reveal first track

[photo: Rob Benson – Black Earth Photography]

Today, Shadow Kingdom Records announces January 27th, 2023 as the international release date for Iron Void‘s highly anticipated fourth album, IV, on CD, vinyl LP, and cassette tape formats.

“Slow and steady wins the race,” and so it is the same in the doom scene. Iron Void was originally formed by Jonathan “Sealey” and Andy Whittaker (Solstice, The Lamp of Thoth) in 1998 in order to create an old-school doom metal band, worshiping at the altar of doom legends such as Black Sabbath, Saint Vitus, Pentagram, etc. The band re-formed in 2008, and proceeded to release a live album, an EP, and a digital single, each exactly two years apart, before delivering their self-titled debut album in 2014. The Doomsday follow-up came a year later, with 2018’s critically acclaimed Excalibur arriving via new label home Shadow Kingdom.

Consolidating Iron Void‘s position as proud ‘n’ pure purveyors of dependable doom metal is the aptly titled fourth album, IV. This new record sees the arrival of “new” drummer Scott Naylor, who’s actually been with the band since 2018, and who’s renown for his work in Reign of Erebus, Heathen Deity, and Atra Mors among others. Together, this new-look power-trio look back to the old, to Iron Void‘s roots, and create a stripped-down DOOM METAL album. Whereas Excalibur had a concept encompassing the historical past and legend, IV by contrast takes a long, hard look at everyday matters: real-world themes that are darker and more tangible, particularly in these days of Covid-19 and political unrest across all nations. Musically, Iron Void match form to content with direct, hard-hitting doom steeped in the old school, but they’re equally adept at varying their dynamics whilst retaining their core sound. Like many bands during these dark days, Iron Void had to write the whole album remotely during lockdown using file-sharing software, something Sealey says was admittedly “probably the hardest record to write” since they’d never previously done such before. However, the recorded results of IV burst with energy and personality, proving that these old dogs are anything but tired!

No other words needed: Iron Void are doom metal maniacs, for doom metal maniacs. IV is your unlucky number!

In the meantime, hear the brand-new track “Grave Dance” HERE at Shadow Kingdom‘s Bandcamp, where all formats can be preordered. Cover and tracklisting are  as follows:

IRON VOID_cover221209

Tracklisting for Iron Void’s IV
1. Call Of The Void
2. Grave Dance
3. Living On The Earth
4. Pandora’s Box
5. Blind Dead
6. She
7. Lords Of The Wasteland
8. Slave One
9. Last Rites

Related posts

IRON VOID stream new SHADOW KINGDOM album at 666MrDoom


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More