ITERUM NATA – Former Hexvessel guitarist unveils new single

Today we present “The Mountain”, the first single from “Trench of Loneliness” – the fourth album of Iterum Nata, a psychedelic folk-rock project by former Hexvessel guitarist Jesse Heikkinen. Due for release on all formats on February 10, 2023.

Listen to “The Mountain” here:

Jesse commented:

“The Mountain” is based on a recurring dream I have, where I observe the burning world from afar. It is a song about the cyclical nature of existence – the ever-turning wheel of birth, life, death, and rebirth.

It was never my intention, but I feel that “The Mountain” is both a lyrical and a musical sequel to “Principle of Rhythm”. The song almost didn’t make it onto the album – it was a last-minute addition. I felt that the record needed an upbeat song. The rhythm of “The Mountain” was inspired by a storm hitting the tin roof above me at my workplace. I recorded the drums that same day, accompanied by rain. The song also features a ‘Robert Fripp-esque” guitar solo recorded in only one take.

ITERUM NATA_cover221209

Iterum Nata – “Trench of Loneliness”

“Trench of Loneliness” is the fourth album of Iterum Nata – a psychedelic folk-rock project by Finnish multi-instrumentalist Jesse Heikkinen. While the music is occasionally upbeat, the general atmosphere has more in common with neo-folk than Jesse’s former band: Hexvessel, for whom he played lead guitar for five years. All aspects of Iterum Nata are profoundly inspired by the pagan worldview, esotericism, and the dark regions of the human mind; the result is something that could easily pass as the bastard offspring of Rome, Tenhi, Of the Wand & the Moon, Linda Perhacs, Espers, and early King Crimson.

“Trench of Loneliness” was recorded at Studio Beyond North Star. With the exception of Hiski Pajuniemi’s appearance on tin whistle, Jesse handled everything – from the composition to tracking and mixing – entirely by himself.


The project was formed in 2017, following Jesse’s move from Oulu to Tampere. After years of playing other people’s music in various ensembles, all the while longing to write and perform his own material, he conceptualised and founded Iterum Nata. The band name is Latin for ‘born again’ and was chosen as a reference to how a person must always redefine himself – meaning, undergo a rebirth of sorts – in the wake of a powerful experience.

One year after the self-released eponymous debut from 2017 came “The Course of Empire” on Inverse Records. The second Iterum Nata album caught the eye of Finnish label Svart Records, and the critically acclaimed “Bardo Disorder” came out in 2020. Once Jesse had finished the material for the fourth record, he concluded that Nordvis was the perfect fit for his vision of “Trench of Loneliness”.


1 – My Name is Sorrow
2 – One With the Sun
3 – Forgotten Friends
4 – Bones in the Forest
5 – The Feather
6 – The Mountain
7 – Losing Connection
8 – I Only Sing With the Dead
9 – I’d Rather Be a Fool Than a King
10 – Comedy of Humanity

Release date: February 10, 2023

Formats: CD, LP, Digital

Pre-sale link to publish alongside any news:

Scheduled single titles and release dates: 
Single 1 – “The Mountain”, December 9, 2022
Single 2 – “Losing Connection”, January 6, 2023

Iterum Nata:


Related posts

ITERUM NATA release new single “A Manifested Nightmare”


ITERUM NATA release new single “A Darkness Within”


ITERUM NATA returns with a new single from the upcoming album, From the Infinite Light


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More