STORMO share new single, ‘Valichi, Oltre’

Photographer credit: Paola Paganotto

Recent Prosthetic signees STORMO have today shared their latest single, Valichi, Oltre, to all streaming platforms. Valichi, Oltre is the Italian post-hardcore group’s second track to be taken from their upcoming fourth studio album, Endocannibalismo, which is set for release on February 10.


Apple Music | TIDAL | Deezer | Bandcamp | Spotify

Pre-order Endocannibalismo here.

Speaking on the signing and album announcement, STORMO vocalist Luca Rocco comments: “Valichi, Oltre was one of the last songs we wrote for Endocannibalismo, and it’s the opening track of the record. It has a screamo touch but in a more mathy and heavy way. It speaks about the end of everything, and from the end we wanted to begin this new chapter.”

Formed in 2007 in the Dolomite Alps region of Italy with a deep admiration for their native country’s hardcore punk luminaries in La Quiete and Raein, as well as eighties and nineties cult heroes in Negazione, Wretched and Indigesti. STORMO’s steady rise from unassuming beginnings has been one of consistently stirring songwriting. Having amassed over 400 shows across Europe and the UK – including support slots to Converge, Full of Hell and La Dispute, as well as appearances at Fluff Fest – STORMO’s next chapter sees the band fully come of age.

Sequestered into isolated reflection throughout 2020 and 2021, it was not long before the band found themselves ruminating on concerns far bigger than themselves; namely death and ecological endings. The end not only of themselves, nor the human race as a whole, but of the world as we know it. Upon discovering Brazilian photographer Claudia Andujar’s work on the Yanomami tribe, STORMO soon found themselves intrigued by the concept of endocannibalism – the practice of which includes consuming parts of dead relatives in a display of mourning and to free the deceased’s soul – leading the band to take on death and egotism as central influences for Endocannibalismo.

Lyrically, Endocannibalismo was written entirely in the band’s native tongue; partly as a byproduct of the albums nocturnal and instinctive writing process and partly in honour of their history as a band. Recorded and mixed by Giulio Favero (OvO, Buñuel, Zu) before being placed in the hands of Giovanni Versari (Muse, Raein, Verdena) at La Maesta for mastering, Endocannibalismo’s 11 tracks possess a crystalline clarity to service STORMO’s surging blastbeats, spiralling rhythms and noise punk cacophony, whilst staying true to the each songs deep seated primal nature.

Seeking to tie together the whole process visually, STORMO took to artificial intelligence when creating Endocannibalismo’s art. Utilising specific prompts, the AI render was put through stages of mutation before culminating in its final form. A haunting graphic representation of living beings in a state of constant death and rebirth.


Endocannibalismo tracklist:
1. Valichi, Oltre
2. PV77
3. Sorte
4. Spire
5. Anabasi
6. Frame
7. Endocannibalismo
8. Disequilibrio
9. Deserti
10. Vipere, Ombre
11. Sopravvivenza e Forme

Luca Rocco – vocals
Giacomo Rento – guitars
Federico Trimeri – bass
Stefano Rutolini – drums

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More