Canada’s NOMAD Combine A Ballad With Groovy Death Metal In “Revolution” Off “The Mountain” Out March 2023

Mastered by Christian Donaldson (Cryptopsy)

L-R – Josh MacDonald (Bass), Matt Johnstone (Guitar/Vocals), Bretton Melanson, (Drums/Vocals), Jeff Mabb (Guitar/Vocals)
Photo Credit – Chris Geistlinger

Nomad is a progressive death metal band from British Columbia’s Okanagan Valley in Canada who are excited to finally be releasing their debut album “The Mountain” this coming March. “Revolution” is the second single off the album and it is their most dynamic offering, featuring clean vocals and harmonies for the first half with a crushing ass kicking at the end. It’s a call to action, a challenge to take making the world a better place into your own hands. They comment on the track:

“The first half is our “ballad” with clean vocals, and the second half is rocking out to one hell of a sludge/groove riff, start light, go heavy, it’s kind of our “One”. The lyrics call for a revolution, a societal change, redistribution of wealth, symbiosis with nature, and to stop messing up the damn planet so our kids have a decent world to live in. The album title comes from the final line of the song, and the “fuck you” is directed to those that put profits over the preservation of our planet.”

Nomad is still early in their career and has cycled through different singers who have each brought their own style to the table and impacted the music in their own ways. Their new shared vocals setup, where three of the four musicians are vocalists, really lets them combine different styles taking the best of what they’ve had in the past from an old-school raw sound to a more refined modern sound.

The progressive melodic groove/death metal is recommended for fans of Lamb of God, Pantera, and Sepultura.

Listen to “Revolution” via its premiere on NoCleanSinging HERE.

“The Mountain” is due out on March 3, 2023, and was mixed by drummer Bretton Melanson and mastered by Christian Donaldson (Cryptopsy). It is recommended for fans of Gojira, Lamb of God, and Pantera.

Album pre-order (CD, Digital) –

Previous single – “Burning Alive” – 


Track Listing:
1. Burning Alive (4:30)
2. Haunted (6:00)
3. Revolution (6:05)
4. Relentless (6:09)
5. A Lonely Wanderer (5:08)
6. Blood Moon (9:40)
7. Rise in the Fall (6:20)
8. Processor (6:56)
9. Choke (8:52)
Album Length: 59:38

Album Credits:
– All songs written and performed by Nomad.
– Additional writing contributions by past members:
Kasey Klassen
Lorne Valliers
Dylan Heska
Justin Kleinsasser
– Mixed by Bretton Melanson
– Mastered by Christian Donaldson
– Album Artwork by: Angela Grimmuza/ Art Of Grimmuza
– MAPL – Canadian Content

Album and Live lineup:
Bretton Melanson: Drums/Vocals
Matt Johnstone: Guitar/Vocals
Jeff Mabb: Guitar/Vocals
Josh MacDonald: Bass

For more info: |

Related posts

Canada’s NOMAD Shares Drum & Vocal Playthrough “Rise in the Fall” Off New Album “The Mountain”


Canada’s NOMAD Now Streaming Dynamic Debut Progressive Death Metal Album “The Mountain” – Mastered by Christian Donaldson (Cryptopsy)


Canada’s NOMAD Invites Metalheads To Take A Journey Through The Universe And Their Minds With “Choke”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More