SLEEPSCULPTOR’s chaotic blend of metalcore beams on “An Equivalent Exchange”

Photo Credit: Travis Antoniello

PRE-ORDER: Divine Recalibration

“A concise, caustic show of force that marks an emphatic arrival of Sleepsculptor as harbingers of boundless metalcore.” – Knotfest

Today, experimental metalcore band Sleepsculptor has shared their new single “An Equivalent Exchange.” The track is a full on frenzy as vocals sway from energetic to manic, and the instrumentation follows suit with intense drumming and sporadic guitar squeals. It serves as the second single from the band’s upcoming concept album, Divine Recalibration, out April 28th on Silent Pendulum Records. The record follows a futuristic story of a man who uploads his consciousness into a cloud system, and in doing so, he is able to relive/experience memories of all the other people also connected to the cloud, hoping to achieve an understanding of humanity. “An Equivalent Exchange” focuses on one of these memories.

The band explains:

“Poverty has a man living in the dregs of society; he stumbles upon ancient texts that detail a ritual that allows him to transmute blood into money. After doing so, his body begins to warp and become deformed while simultaneously eroding his brain; moral of the story – money isn’t the solution to everything and greed is a sin for a reason.”

Originally formed in 2018, Sleepsculptor found themselves in the midst of a line-up change in 2021 that left them seeking out a new vocalist. The Pennsylvania-based group made the decision to put out a post on social media hosting virtual vocal auditions, and Florent Curatola of Canada by way of France headed that call. Despite being thousands of miles apart, Florent meshed perfectly with Travis Antoniello (bass/backing vocals), Jake Moyer (guitar/programming), Kuyler Massam (guitar/programming), and James Slattery (drums), and the group began piecing together what would be Divine Recalibration.

The full band met in-person for the first time when they entered the studio with producer Matt Guglielmo (Cryptodira, Spite, Seeyouspacecowboy) in March 2022 and things clicked instantly. Over a few weeks the band had recorded 15 songs that are as infectious as they are technical. Pulling influences from a wide variety of metal alongside elements of post-rock and electronic music, Sleepsculptor have created a sound very much their own. 

The album is available for vinyl pre-order now through Silent Pendulum Records and digitally on the label’s Bandcamp.


Divine Recalibration Tracklist:
1. Shattered Nerve
2. Panacea
3. Chrysalis
4. Second Sight
5. An Equivalent Exchange
6. Lavage De Cerveau
7. Venerate
8. Beyond The Veil
9. Rite Of Agony (ft. Chad Kapper)
10. Every Word Erased
11. Pry
12. Plaster Saint (ft. Cameron McBride)
13. Les Jumeaux
14. Symbiote Reborn
15. A Divine Recalibration

Related posts

SLEEPSCULPTOR release concept album Divine Recalibration on Silent Pendulum Records


SLEEPSCULPTOR unleash a futuristic metalcore frenzy on “Plaster Saint” featuring Cameron McBride


Metalcore band SLEEPSCULPTOR share abrasive new single “Panacea”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More