LIV KRISTINE releases her new studio album “River Of Diamonds” on 21.04.2023 on Metalville Records

LIV KRISTINE_cover230124

River Of Diamonds“, the sixth solo album by the queen of Scandinavian Gothic Metal, continues on the path set by the EP “Have Courage Dear Heart” ( 2021), which received great international acclaim.

All tracks on the new album were composed by Liv’s long-time friend Tommy Olsson (Theatre of Tragedy, Long Night) at his Black Rider Records studio in Tau, near Liv Kristine’s birthplace of Stavanger in Norway. .

Carefully spending time with the compositions that kept coming out of Tommy’s studio in 2021 and 2022 felt just right, like a yin-yang experience: music & pre-mix (Tommy O.), own lyrics and melodies, the finishing touches (mix & master by Eroc) and visuals (photos by M. Rohbach) merged into exactly the album Liv Kristine had passionately longed for.

“Our Immortal Day” is a duet with the incomparable singer Østen Bergøy (Long Night, Tristania). “I just love that Sisters of Mercy feeling” (Liv about the song).

Fernando (Moonspell) lifted the title track “River of Diamonds” to a new, magical level. Liv Kristine‘s sister Carmen Elise Espenæs (Savn, Midnattsol) appears as an exceptional duet partner on the faster track “Love Me High”. In addition, Liv’s husband, Michael Espenæs is the voice behind the highly emotional male vocals on Jon Lord’s masterpiece “Pictured Within”. Another cover, “True Colours” (Cindy Lauper), was beautifully re-recorded by Ecor (Rocco Cogliati) with keyboards and piano.

Each song follows a path of strong authenticity and unbound creativity, which is my innermost and first criterion since “Theatre Of Tragedy” (1995), “Deus Ex Machina” (1998) and “Lovelorn” (Leaves’ Eyes). The lifeline that flows through all twelve compositions unveils a heart-based personal path, a sense of deeper truth and a soul vision of pure bliss consciousness – an eternal river of diamonds.” (Liv Kristine)


01. Our immortal Day

02. No Makeup

03. Maligna

04. Gravity

05. In Your Blue Eyes

06. River of Diamonds

07. Pictured Within

08. Shaolin Me

09. Love Me High

10. Serenity

11. If I am Dreaming

12. True Colours


All instruments (except Pictured Within & True Colours): Tommy Olsson

Vocals: Liv Kristine Espenæs

DISCOGRAPHY (studio albums)


Deus Ex Machina (1998)

Enter My Religion (2006)

Skintight (2010)

Libertine (2012)

Vervain (2014)

With “Midnattsol”

The Aftermath (2018)

With “Leaves’ Eyes”

Lovelorn (2004)

Vinland Saga (2006)

Njord (2009)

Meredead (2011)

Symphonies of the Night (2013)

King of Kings (2015)

With “Theatre of Tragedy”

Theatre of Tragedy (1995)

Velvet Darkness They Fear (1996)

Aégis (1998)

Musique (2000)

Assembly (2002)


Related posts

LIV KRISTINE “Deus ex Machina” re-release incl. unreleased bonus-tracks out on March 1st 2024


LIV KRISTINE “River Of Diamonds” official video feat. Fernando Ribeiro


LIV KRISTINE presents the official lyric video for the new single “Love Me High”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More