SEE YOU NEXT TUESDAY share heavy new single “Day in the Life of a Fool”

Photo Credit: Lauren Slavik

For the third single off their upcoming album, DistractionsSee You Next Tuesday have released the thunderous “Day in the Life of a Fool”. The song gets off to a pounding start with odd patterned drums and a bass solo before heading into a full on frenzy of sound. Gravity blasts, into pure chaos, into more blast beats with a touch of black metal, all in just 2 minutes. The video for the song captures the chaos in a home-movie kind of way, flash warning advised.

Speaking on the song’s subject matter, vocalist Chris Fox states:
“This song is basically about realizing the declining relevance of your life to the world, and in response shutting down and detaching from it.”

See You Next Tuesday embark on a short east coast tour in late February with Bandit, full dates below. A second-pressing of Distractions is available for pre-order now through Good Fight Music, after the first vinyl launch sold out in just a few days.

Formed in 2004, See You Next Tuesday made their mark in the world of extreme metal with the release of their albums Parasite (2007) and Intervals (2008), both on Ferret Music. Going on hiatus in 2009 and then reuniting in 2015 for a few one off shows over the years, there were never any plans for the band to record new music. In late 2020, misfortune became inspiration for guitarist/multi-instrumentalist Drew Slavik, and suddenly he and vocalist Chris Fox were writing another album. Pushing forth on controlled chaos, the band has been able to evolve since their initial output and Distractions finds them delving into a new, modern grindcore sound. The thirteen songs on the record are full of fast and heavy guitars accompanied by an invigorating vocal performance from Fox. The true standout is in the drum work, provided by Slavik, displaying a maniacally bold use of blast beats that perfectly intertwine with his home-made samples. Distractions was recorded at Slavik’s home studio where he also handled production and mixing, and was mastered by Josh Schroeder (Lorna Shore, In Hearts Wake).

See You Next Tuesday is Drew Slavik – Guitar, Chris Fox – Vocals, Rick Woods – Bass, James Watson – Drums


Distractions Tracklist:
1. How Insensitive
2. What A Funny Girl You Used To Be
3. Hey Look, No Crying
4. Why Can’t You Behave
5. Glad To Be Unhappy
6. I’ll Never Be The Same
7. I’ll Never Smile Again
8. Day In The Life Of A Fool
9. Call Me Irresponsible
10. This Happy Madness
11. I Had The Craziest Dream
12. That’s What God Looks Like To Me
13. Strange Music

Tour Dates:
w/ Bandit
2.23.23 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery
2.24.23 – Brooklyn, NY @ Saint Vitus
2.25.23 – Rochester, NY @ Montage Music Hall
2.26.23 – New Kensington, PA @ Preserving Underground

Related posts

SEE YOU NEXT TUESDAY release music video for “I’ll Never Be the Same” + “I’ll Never Smile Again”


Grindcore band SEE YOU NEXT TUESDAY share new single “Why Can’t You Behave”


Grindcore band SEE YOU NEXT TUESDAY release first song in 14 years, “Hey Look, No Crying”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More