FORETOKEN premiere new single and lyric video, ‘The Wraith That Weeps’

Photographer credit: Kip Dawkins

Virginia Beach, VA blackened death metal duo FORETOKEN are currently premiering their new single, The Wraith That Weepsvia Metal Injection, along with an accompanying lyric video by Aimed&FramedThe Wraith That Weeps is the second single to be taken from FORETOKEN’s upcoming sophomore album, Triumphs, which will be released via Prosthetic Records on March 17.

The Wraith That Weeps will be on all streaming platforms on Friday, February 10.
Pre-order Triumphs here.

Speaking on the track premiere, Steve Redmond (guitar and orchestration) comments: “For this song I tried to channel my death and tech-death roots to create something dark and complex. Having Hannes Grossmann on drums really allowed me push the music to be more extreme at times and I think this track is a good example of that.”

Vocalist, Dan Cooley adds: “We’re really happy with how this song turned out as it showcases one of the things we try push in our songs, which is storytelling. The use of classical guitar and blackened death metal rhythms created an excellent canvas for us to bring a haunting story about La Llorna, The Weeping Woman, to life.”

Following their 2020 debut long player, RuinFORETOKEN’s latest album sees the group expand upon their foundations of meticulously lofty soundscapes, mythological narratives, and elaborate musicianship. Utilizing traditional narratives of myths, legends, and folklore from a wide range of Western and Middle Eastern origins, Triumphs examines the ignored collateral damage of the cost of victory through these established mythos.

Taking musical inspiration from melodic and tech death metal, as well as power, folk and black metal, FORETOKEN’s core sound on Triumphs is bolstered by subtle and captivating use of traditionally Scandinavian, Southeast Asian, and Middle Eastern instruments for atmospheric depth within the album’s 51 minute runtime. Reunited once again with Hannes Grossmann (Hate Eternal, Alkaloid, Obscura, Necrophagist, Blotted Science, and Triptykon) on drums and boasting a guest guitar appearance by The Black Dahlia Murder’s Brandon Ellis on penultimate track A Tyrant Rises As Titans FallFORETOKEN’s technical prowess shines through without overpowering any of the nine songs’ rhythmic charge.Triumphs was penned throughout 2021 by both Steve Redmond (guitar and orchestration) and Dan Cooley (vocals), with the pair settling on eight original compositions and a cover of Naglfar’s I Am Vengeance. Grossmann then commenced drum tracking at his own studio, Mordor Sounds, with guitars recorded by Redmond himself and vocals captured at Trepan Studios by Tony Petrocelly, before mixing and mastering duties were placed in the accomplished hands of Jacob Hansen (Arch Enemy, Fleshgod Apocalypse, The Black Dahlia Murder, and more) at Hansen Studios.

Visually tied together by portrait artist Tomas Honz’s detailed cover painting, depicting a protagonist’s journey in the aftermath of battle, Triumphs aesthetic component is a symbolic embodiment of the duo’s enduring fascination with historial consequence via a folkloric lens. Taking fables and fantasy to extreme sonic heights, FORETOKEN’s Triumphs is as lofty in ambition as it is accomplished in its musicianship and songcraft.


Triumphs tracklist:
1. Revenant of Valor
2. Demon Queller
3. The Wraith That Weeps
4. The Labors
5. Serpent Kings Venom
6. His Riastrad
7. Devil o’ the Sea
8. A Tyrant Rises as Titans Fall
9. I Am Vengeance (Naglfar cover)

Dan Cooley – vocals
Steve Redmond – guitar and orchestration
Hannes Grossmann – drums (recording only)

Related posts

FORETOKEN share visualizer for ‘His Riastrad’; ‘Triumphs’ out now


New FORETOKEN album, ‘Triumphs’, premiering in full


FORETOKEN premiere new single and video, ‘Serpent King’s Venom’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More