Enter The “Timeshift” From Vancouver Orchestral Metal Ensemble OPUS ARISE (ft. members of Svneatr, Thousand Arrows, Ysgaroth)

New Album “The Network” Out Now!

L-R – Derek Ho – Cello (live only), Matthew Logan – Drums, Violin II, Ellen Smith – Viola, Michelle Gao – Violin I, Kyle Hagen, Shawn Hillman – Guitar, Cello, Matthew Hannah – Keyboards
Photo Credit Jade Weekes

Vancouver, BC’s Opus Arise is an orchestral progressive metal ensemble featuring members of extreme bands Svneatr, Thousand Arrows, and Ysgaroth. Opus Arise unleashed their second full-length “The Network” this past December. It’s a concept record that is a cyberpunk tale that brings together classical strings and metal rhythms to create luscious soundscapes to dissonant chaos.

As part of the album’s storyline, the band is offering up the next video for the track “Timeshift”. Guitarist Shawn Hillman explains the track’s place in the story:

“As they continue on, the Protagonist’s mastery of his research is demonstrated in his (Timeshift) progression, which will return him home to his time when he plays it. The song timeshift is also about the search that the Protagonist does for his friend, Character 1. He wants to reveal his discovery and return them both home. Unfortunately, after searching for a while, he realizes Character 1 has been doomed to the network. He has been lost in the reminiscence of his past life and has lost touch with reality. There is nothing that can save him, so the Protagonist uses his progression to return home, which continues into the album’s closing track (The Unanswered Question).”

The video for “Timeshift” via its premiere on GhostCultMag HERE.

Opus Arise‘s latest album, “The Network”, is a cyberpunk world filled with neon lights backed by progressive metal riffs and classical themes. The eight-track record was produced and mastered by Maor Appelbaum; mixed by Ryan Shepard, with the album artwork done by Daniel Reyes. The nine players on the record bring forth their skills on guitar, cello, bass, drums, violin, keyboards, viola, and contrabass in a sometimes collaborative effort, which is primarily composed and scored by Matthew Logan and Matthew Hannah. The drums were recorded in a mansion back in 2018 where the original rehearsal space was, and the same location was used to film the music videos for the singles “Reminiscence”, “Change” and “Inner Skepticism”.

“The Network” has a modern metal influence and different composers from their first album. It is best described as orchestral neo-classical instrumental progressive metal and is recommended for fans who enjoy Powerglove, Scale The Summit, and Animals As Leaders.

“The Network” is available at Opusarise.bandcamp.comSpotify.

To watch previous music videos, please the band’s YouTube.

OPUS ARISE_cover221112

Track Listing:
1) Inner Skepticism – 5:50
2) Electric Jungle – 6:02
3) Antimatter – 3:22
4) Digital Soundscape – 4:38
5) Reminiscence – 5:21
6) Change – 5:23
7) Timeshift – 5:21
8) The Unanswered Question – 5:13
Album Length: 41:13

Album Band Lineup:
Shawn Hillman Guitar, Cello on “Digital Soundscape”
James Readman: Guitar
Daniel Carmago: Bass Guitar (Tracks 1-3, 5-7)
Matthew Logan: Drums, Violin II
Matthew Hannah: Keyboards
Michelle Gao: Violin I
Ellen Smith: Viola
Darrell Bennett: Cello
Kyle Hagen: Contrabass, Bass Guitar (Track 8)

For more info:

Related posts

Enter The World of “Antimatter” From Vancouver Orchestral Metal Ensemble OPUS ARISE (ft. members of Svneatr, Thousand Arrows, Ysgaroth)


Orchestral Metal Ensemble OPUS ARISE (ft. members of Svneatr, Thousand Arrows, Ysgaroth) Offer A Glimpse Into A Detailed Electronic World In “Reminiscence” Off “The Network” Out Dec 2022


Dive Into A Futuristic World And Question Your Existence With “Inner Skepticism” Off OPUS ARISE’s “The Network”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More