MACE ‘N’ CHAIN – Debut Album ‘Among Ancient Pillars’ via No Remorse Records – Lyric Video available

MACE 'N' CHAIN_cover230222

MACE ‘N’ CHAIN was formed in Sweden at the end of 2020 by David Nilsson (singer of Swedish death metal band Feral) to pay homage to the genre that originally got him into metal in the first place: true, sword-wielding, heavy, goddamned, metal!

The debut demo “Upon the Anvil Formed” was released shortly thereafter in 2021 to high praise in the underground metal scene leading MACE ‘N’ CHAIN joining No Remorse Records, with David Nilsson commenting, “I am extremely honored to be teaming up with No Remorse Records! And I simply could not imagine a better place for MACE ‘N’ CHAIN than this highly respected label”.

“Among Ancient Pillars” is highly recommended for fans of Eternal Champion, Wrathblade, Manilla Road, Cirith Ungol, Brocas Helm, Ironsword, and Manowar. It is raw, epic and thunderous, faithful to epic heavy metal legends, old and new, yet it has the original touch of composer and multi-instrumentalist, David Nilsson. Lyrically, “Among Ancient Pillars” is inspired by a variety of sources including myth and fantasy, literature and the works of J.R.R. Tolkien, Robert Jordan, Robert E. Howard. This is just the beginning…

The album will be released on March 24th 2023. It was recorded in Pagan Hell Studios, mixed by Peter Nilsson at Soner Produktion and mastered by Bart Gabriel. The artwork and logo were created by Bram Bruyneel.

A lyric video for the track “The Key to Ancient Riddles” has been premiered at this location:


  1. Bloodied Talons
  2. The Key to Ancient Riddles
  3. Defying the Gates
  4. By the Peal of Thunder
  5. Labyrinthian Black
  6. Mound of Ashen Skulls
  7. Fountain of Voices
  8. Upon the Anvil Formed +++ +++ +++

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More