SMALLPOX AROMA premiere new track at “Legacy” magazine’s website


Today, Thai grindcore power-trio Smallpox Aroma premiere the new track “Gory Sight, Shining Bright” at Legacy magazine’s website. The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated debut album, Festering Embryos of Logical Corruption, set for international release on March 31st via Inhuman Assault Productions on CD and cassette tape formats; the vinyl LP edition will follow later this summer. Hear Smallpox Aroma‘s “Gory Sight, Shining Bright” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Hailing from Bangkok, Thailand’s Smallpox Aroma proudly play ferocious grindcore with the traditional format of blastbeats and D-beats. Perceptibly, one can hear influences from well-known and underground grindcore, goregrind, and crust acts like PLF, Captain Cleanoff, Insect Warfare, early Napalm Death, Nasum, early Rotten Sound, Disrupt, Krigshot, Flesh Parade, Magrudergrind, Last Days of Humanity, and GUT among others.

Chronologically, Smallpox Aroma were formed in early 2006 by Polwach “Goredick” Beokhaimook on drums/vocals and Nutpanawat “Zox” Kensing on guitars. Later within the year, Pratchaya “L.S.” Chaichana joined the band as another guitarist. Due to invitation, Apirak “Septictanklavatory” Treesuksakul joined the band as the guitarist a few months later, with Zox shifting to be on bass and L.S. on vocals. In January 2007, Zox left the band due to personal reasons; L.S. became the bassist along with his sole vocal duty, bringing the current lineup up to date. To date, Smallpox Aroma have released six splits, an EP, a demo, and a live album as well as three compilations.

At long last, Smallpox Aroma are set to release their first full-length, Festering Embryos of Logical Corruption. Although brewing for nearly two decades, the power-trio’s debut album is reflective of their evolution over those many years. Very relatively speaking, of course, but their earlier goregrind-oriented sound has morphed into the aforementioned traditional grindcore: meaning, Smallpox Aroma retain the punk/noise-rooted ethic of the ’80s rather than the more slamming, death metalled version of “grindcore” that’s actually deathgrind. Semantics aside, Festering Embryos of Logical Corruption states its case clearly and quickly, kicking up a head-spinning/slicing whirlwind in a mere 18 minutes. The album’s 13 component songs are stripped-down and strapped to the nines with lightspeed hooks and overwhelming intensity – but, like the best grindcore of the past, with a sick sense of fun. Get in, and fucking GO!

Get fucking GOing with the brand-new track “Gory Sight, Shining Bright” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Legacy, Germany’s premier extreme metal authority. Also fucking GO with the previously reveleaed “Eleven Corpses Disentombed” HERE at Inhuman Assault‘s Bandcamp, where the album can also be preordered. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

SMALLPOX AROMA_cover230117

Tracklisting for Smallpox Aroma’s Festering Embryos of Logical Corruption
1. Harvesting the Aliens’ Nest
2. Into the Realm of Nothingness
3. Oh My Sweet Gruesome Scarecrow
4. Quest for the Missing Head
5. Eternal Burrow
6. Inherited Ritual of Savagery
7. Gory Sight, Shining Bright
8. Swallow the Defiled
9. Unfolding the Secret Alter Egos in You
10. Eleven Corpses Disentombed
11. Metamorphic Passage of Time
12. Inescapable Viceral Erosion
13. Country of the Ghouls


Related posts

SMALLPOX AROMA set release date for INHUMAN ASSAULT debut, reveal first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More