Wisconsin’s YOTUMA Induce Brutality And Groove With “Traveler” Off Forthcoming EP “Otherworldly Incarnate”

L-R Yotuma Current Lineup: Ella Rose (Bass) | Ben Van (Guitar) | Brevin Becker (Drums) | Ryan McAleavy (Vocals)
Photographer: Sara Richter

Madison, WI’s Yotuma is a fresh new sound out of the American Midwest with its brutal and groovy-inducing death metal. The quartet has something new for your headbanging palate with their latest single “Traveler” off their upcoming EP “Otherworldly Incarnate” due out later this year to follow their 2021 debut album “Age of Acrimony”.

The track “Traveler” has been a fan favorite live, with its catchy hooks, and riffs giving listeners a memorable moment in the mosh pit. The band adds:

“Traveler started with inspiration from Tool’s Lateralus track and Mudvayne’s Dig for the bass riffing. As soon as we finalized the structure and riffs for it, we knew it was going to be received well. This was the second song we wrote in the EP and we tried to keep it straightforward and catchy.”

Choosing the most well-received live songs that fit together in a cohesive vision was the main rule for Yotuma when they selected the track listing for “Otherworldly Incarnate”. It was a vigorous selection and a thorough writing process for the band, which consists of Ryan McAleavy (Vocals), Ella Rose (Bass), Ben Van (Guitar), and Brevin Becker (Drums) (ex-Squidhammer). Each track stays unique and fresh flowing smoothly into one another to present the EP as a work of art from beginning to end.

“Otherworldly Incarnate is going to be a powerhouse of seven songs all with different approaches to its songwriting. We experimented with our writing processes while still keeping the energy and power that the fans love. We absolutely love how this record turned out. Evan Yoakum did a phenomenal job recording this EP and Russell Hollar nailed the mix and master. This EP really captures our vision with the tracks sounding raw and gritty while staying tight and polished. We feel like we’ve raised the bar for our next release and are sure to continue to strive for bigger, better, and more impressive bangers.” says the band.

Creating technical and dynamic extreme music with a groove that takes influences from death, progressive, and thrash, Yotuma is recommended for fans of Decapitated, Gojira, Kublai Khan, 200 Stab Wounds, and Lamb of God.

Their single “Traveler” can be heard via its music video premiere on TheCirclePit YouTube channel –


Track Listing:
1 – Mantra
2 – Welding the Flesh
3 – The Traveler
4 – Viscera Bucket
5 – Shrine of Absolution
6 – Unhinged Atrocity
7 – Wrath of Acala

For more info: | |

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More