Canada’s NOMAD Now Streaming Dynamic Debut Progressive Death Metal Album “The Mountain” – Mastered by Christian Donaldson (Cryptopsy)

Mastered by Christian Donaldson (Cryptopsy)

L-R – Josh MacDonald (Bass), Matt Johnstone (Guitar/Vocals), Bretton Melanson, (Drums/Vocals), Jeff Mabb (Guitar/Vocals)
Photo Credit – Chris Geistlinger

Hailing from Canada’s Okanagan Valley in British Columbia, Nomad is a dynamic, progressive death metal band consisting of drummer/vocalist Bretton Melanson; guitarist/vocalist Matt Johnstone; guitarist/vocalist Jeff Mabb; and bassist Josh MacDonald. Having three vocalists creates a unique sound that is powerful, complex, and full-bodied. They have solidified their name in the local scene with festival appearances and supporting big-name acts and now they are stoked to have their debut album “The Mountain” ready for ears around the world. They share their excitement for the release:

“This has been a long time coming. After so many external factors holding us back, we are so happy to finally get this out to the world, and start crushing audiences again. I think we have a more “Rural” feel than most metal bands. The music feels like being in nature, camping, etc. Johnstone’s old band called themselves “Bush Metal” and that kind of feeling came over.”

Throughout the album, they confront personal and societal issues, explore sci-fi worlds and question authority. The seamlessly go from soft, clean ballad parts to raging, full-throttle death metal chaos. Drum and guitar solos abound, and the diversity in the vocal styles makes “The Mountain” an exciting and dynamic musical adventure.

The nine-track album was mixed by Bretton Melanson, mastered by Christian Donaldson and the album artwork was done by Angela Grimmuza. A melting pot of different styles and eras, Nomad is recommended for fans of Devildriver, Gojira, and Lamb of God.

“The Mountain” is due out on March 3, 2023, and can be heard in full before it officially drops via its album stream premiere on TheProgSpace HERE.

Album pre-order (CD, Digital) –


Track Listing:
1. Burning Alive (4:30)
2. Haunted (6:00)
3. Revolution (6:05)
4. Relentless (6:09)
5. A Lonely Wanderer (5:08)
6. Blood Moon (9:40)
7. Rise in the Fall (6:20)
8. Processor (6:56)
9. Choke (8:52)
Album Length: 59:38

Album Credits:
– All songs written and performed by Nomad.
– Additional writing contributions by past members:
Kasey Klassen
Lorne Valliers
Dylan Heska
Justin Kleinsasser
– Mixed by Bretton Melanson
– Mastered by Christian Donaldson
– Album Artwork by: Angela Grimmuza/ Art Of Grimmuza
– MAPL – Canadian Content

Album and Live lineup:
Bretton Melanson: Drums/Vocals
Matt Johnstone: Guitar/Vocals
Jeff Mabb: Guitar/Vocals
Josh MacDonald: Bass

For more info: |

Related posts

Canada’s NOMAD Shares Drum & Vocal Playthrough “Rise in the Fall” Off New Album “The Mountain”


Canada’s NOMAD Invites Metalheads To Take A Journey Through The Universe And Their Minds With “Choke”


Canada’s NOMAD Combine A Ballad With Groovy Death Metal In “Revolution” Off “The Mountain” Out March 2023


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More