NIGHTMARER – Metal Injection Debuts “Taufbefehl” Featuring Guest Vocals By Members Of Valborg

Photo by Peter Voigtmann

Dissonant death metal summoners NIGHTMARER today unveil their video for “Taufbefehl.” Now playing at Metal Injection, the track appears on the band’s second full-length, Deformity Adrift, scheduled for release May 5th via Total Dissonance Worship and Vendetta Records.

Forged in 2014, the international collective known as NIGHTMARER, which features within its ranks current and former members of The Ocean, Convulsing, Gigan, War From A Harlot’s Mouth, and more, set out to derive only the most extreme elements of their previous musical endeavors and take them to much more miserable and punishing levels.

Inarguably the band’s most diverse work to date, Deformity Adrift ventures far beyond the conventions of the already unconventional genre of dissonant death metal, without surrendering an ounce of viciousness. A thirty-two-minute sonic behemoth, the record is at once confounding and ravaging. Strong nuances of industrial and doom metal can be heard throughout the record’s nine tracks concluding fittingly with a suffocating wall of sound that leaves its listeners bruised, battered, and shaken.

Elaborates the band on their latest single, “Our second single is a collaborative song between NIGHTMARER and Valborg, who are undoubtedly Germany’s best metal band. ‘Taufbefehl’ roughly translates to ‘baptizing orders’ and features German guest vocals, performed by Christian Kolf and Jan Buckard of Valborg. It’s a stoic, primitive, harsh, and blasphemous machine that will eat your soul. Make of the accompanying music video what you will… Open The Wound. Kreatur Des Terrors. Taufbefehl.”

Notes Metal Injection accurately, “Everything about this rules.”


Watch NIGHTMARER’s “Taufbefehl” video alongside the band’s 10 Essential Extreme Metal Bands list at THIS LOCATION.

Stream the band’s previously released single, “Throe Of Illicit Withdrawal,” at THIS LOCATION.

Guitars on Deformity Adrift were recorded by Simon Hawemann at Sludge Studios, vocals and additional guitars were recorded by Keith Merrow at Merrowsound, all bass was recorded by Brendan Sloan at Overland, and drums were recorded by Marc Wüstenhagen at Dailyhero Recordings. The record was mixed and mastered by Raphaël Bovey at MyRoom Studio and comes adorned in the cover art of Jeanne Comateuse.

NIGHTMARER’s Deformity Adrift will be released by Total Dissonance Worship in the US and Vendetta Records in Europe on CD, vinyl, cassette, digital, and streaming formats. Find preorders at THIS LOCATION.

NIGHTMARER hit the extreme metal underground with their 2016-released debut EP Chasm. The furious whirlwind of low-end dissonance and pulverizing heaviness immediately took the scene by storm and paved the path to a record contract with Season Of Mist.

The band’s following full-length Cacophony Of Terror (2018) and their appearance on the 2019 edition of the Devastation On The Nation Tour, earned the band a strong, diehard following, while the addition of guitarist Keith Merrow (Merrow, Conquering Dystopia) in the same year, only further cemented their reputation as a band to watch closely.

In early 2020, NIGHTMARER parted ways with Season Of Mist to launch their own label, Total Dissonance Worship. Under that banner, the band released the single “Primordial Grit” and 2021 EP Monolith Of Corrosion to critical acclaim from both fans and critics alike. Angry Metal Guy crowned the EP, “one of the weightiest, most impactful death metal offerings you’re likely to hear for months to come.” Everything Is Noise concurred noting, “Monolith Of Corrosion stands tall and mighty as a bleak and harrowing monument to what the darker depths of metal can achieve.” Added No Clean Singing, “if you think of Monolith Of Corrosion not just as a stunning piece of work in its own right, but also as a sign of how much NIGHTMARER have improved and evolved in just the few short years since Cacophony of Terror, then it only stands to reason that their next album – whenever it may appear and whatever form it may take – will be even bigger, even better, and even more devastating.”

By 2021, most of the band relocated to Portland, Oregon to finish the production of their long-awaited, second full-length: this year’s Deformity Adrift.


John Collett – vocals

Simon Hawemann – guitars

Keith Merrow – guitars

Brendan Sloan – bass

Paul Seidel – drums

Additional musicians:

Christian Kolf and Jan Buckard (Valborg) – guest vocals on “Taufbefehl”

Eeli Helin – soundscapes and noise on “Taufbefehl”

Jesse Zuretti and Robert Bruckmayer – orchestration, soundscapes, samples on “Obliterated Shrine”

Related posts

NIGHTMARER – Deformity Adrift Full-Length From Discordant Death Metal Act Out Now On Total Dissonance Worship And Vendetta Records


NIGHTMARER share fourth and final single from new album; “Deformity Adrift” to be released May 5th!


NIGHTMARER reveal video for new single “Hammer of Desolation”!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More