PUPIL SLICER announce new album, ‘Blossom’; title track and music video out now

Photographer credit: Gobinder Jhitta

PUPIL SLICER have today announced their upcoming sophomore album, titled Blossom, due to be released via Prosthetic Records on June 2. Alongside the album announcement, the London, UK band have shared the title track with an accompanying music video directed by David Gregory. The futuristic visual serves as an introduction to Blossom’s conceptual world of sci-fi and cosmic horror, with central themes of abject despair, reincarnation and a fascination of hell.


Stream Blossom via Apple Music | TIDAL | Deezer | Bandcamp and Spotify
Pre-order Blossom here.

Speaking on the album announcement and single release, Kate Davies (vocals / guitar) comments: “Blossom is the culmination of two years spent with razor focus on crafting a journey like no other. We are incredibly proud of the feats we have achieved on our sophomore album, building upon the experience and feedback from our debut to further break down the walls between metal, hardcore, shoegaze, electronic music and pop.

“We have delivered the most concentrated PUPIL SLICER experience yet. A hard sci-fi/cosmic horror concept album, the story told across Blossom draws on some of our favourite media to craft these 10 tracks where instrumental, lyrical and visual elements have been cohesively refined to serve the world we’ve created.

“We are introducing the world of Blossom via the title track, the final point beyond time and space, a nexus of everything that could have been and a vantage point into everything that came before.”

Drawing influence from a myriad of genre classics across books, movies and videogames, PUPIL SLICER‘s primary lyricist, Kate Davies has crafted a story that conveys personal experiences via an other-worldly narrative. In the wake of a profane signal of alien origin, the album opens with the protagonist losing touch with reality beneath a starry night sky. What follows is a kaleidoscopic voyage through another plane of existence where all is not as it first seems; trapped in a loop of destruction that must be imparted upon others. The tale ultimately comes to a point with serenity achieved in the closing minutes, planting the seeds of hope for an opportunity to start anew. 

Whilst 2020’s Mirrors was lyrically a very raw, biographical album, on Blossom Davies has deftly blended between their lived experiences and the tales that unfold throughout the ten tracks on the follow up. These stories are supported by the intensely intricate and skillful rhythmic backbone provided by Josh Andrews on drums, Luke Fabian on bass and bursts of shredding leads from former live guitarist Frank Muir. Told through the prism of a fantastical fiction, the visceral delivery and cathartic energy is palpable as ever; intergalactic embellishments can’t destroy the umbilical link between what churns within and what is later spewed out. 

An intense month in the studio with producer Lewis Johns has led to a cohesive and confident sounding album that embraces ethereal singing, electronic breakdowns, and bold experimentation – without ever losing sight of their core tenets. Through darkness and despair, there is always – at the very least – a glimmer of light in all that they do. Drawing from influences as diverse as Nine Inch Nails, Deafheaven, Radiohead, and Botch, PUPIL SLICER have moulded an album that is effervescent with passion but doesn’t shy away from a good hook and a catchy chorus.

PUPIL SLICER_cover230316

Blossom track list
1. Glaring Dark of Night
2. Momentary Actuality
3. Departure in Solitude
4. Creating the Devil in Our Image
5. The Song at Creation’s End
6. No Temple
7. Terminal Lucidity
8. Language of the Stars
9. Dim Morning Light
10. Blossom

Kate Davies – vocals and guitar
Frank Muir – guitar
Luke Fabian – bass
Joshua Andrews – drums

PUPIL SLICER‘s Blossom is available on multiple physical formats, including various vinyl variants and CD – CLICK HERE FOR MORE.

22 April – Roadburn Festival – Tilburg, NL
29 April – Dudefest – Karlsruhe, DE*
30 April – Les Cuizines Chelles – Paris, FR*
2 May – Cyprus Avenue – Cork, IR*
3 May – Button Factory – Dublin, IE*
4 May – Limelight 2 – Belfast, UK*
5 May – Room 2 – Glasgow, UK*
6 May – Victoria Hall – Settle, UK*
7 May – Desertfest – London, UK*
9 May – Colos Saal – Aschaffenburg, DE*
10 May – Trix – Antwerp, BE*
11 May – Patronaat – Haarlem, NL*
12 May – Hafenklang – Hamburg, DE*
13 May – A Colossal Weekend – Denmark, DK*
15 May – Bla – Oslo, NO*
16 May – Bla – Oslo, NO*
17 May – Debaser – Stockholm, SE*

28 May – Portals Festival – London, UK
9 June – Download Festival – Donington Park, UK
10 June – Mystic Festival – Gdansk, PL
17-20 August – Arctangent Festival – Bristol, UK

*Heavy Rock Breakfast tour w/ Boris

Related posts

PUPIL SLICER premiere bass playthrough for ‘Momentary Actuality’


PUPIL SLICER, ‘Blossom’, out now


PUPIL SLICER share new single and music video, ‘Momentary Actuality’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More