Italy’s VALGRIND premiere new track at


Today, Italian death metallers Valgrindpremiere the new track “Millennium of Night Bliss” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated fifth album, Millennium of Night Bliss, set for international release on April 24th via Memento Mori. Hear Valgrind‘s title track “Millennium of Night Bliss” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

By now, those who follow the dark deeds of Memento Mori should be well familiar with Italy’s Valgrind. Despite forming all the way back in 1996 and releasing three demos and an EP before going on hiatus in 2002, it was the 2012 debut album Morning Will Come No More where Valgrind kicked off their activities – and there’s been no looking back. With steadfast dependability and ever-so-slight “progression” each time, these Italians have quietly become stalwarts of classics-minded death metal that isn’t completely blinkered by the past. Yes, their influences largely remain the same – foundational Morbid Angel, Pestilence, Death, Nocturnus, Possessed, Monstrosity, and Immolation – but Valgrind have increasingly sought their own muse, becoming more personal in lyrical approach whilst keeping their attack trend-free DEATH METAL. 

But if 2020’s Memento Mori-released Condemnation signaled a sea-change for Valgrind – an undeniably “something,” a never-belabored uniqueness, despite mostly still sounding like the same band – then they certainly continue this sterling development with Millennium of Night Bliss. Indeed, there’s a creepiness of aura and a more supernatural lyrical bent that fuel Valgrind‘s fifth album, and the power-trio duly whip forth a vortex of dark ‘n’ dazzling technicality and jaw-dropping chops. Everywhere you turn across the nine-song/38-minute work, there’s some slipstreaming portal opening up into another into another ad infinitum; one could say Millennium of Night Bliss isn’t so much a “complex” record (although it is) as it’s one of rippling darkness and dementia. Truly, Valgrind sound mental here, as the blazing angularity and “tunefully atonal” intensity hearken to such once-slept-on classics as Immolation’s Here In After and Morbid Angel’s Formulas Fatal to the Flesh. However, the Italians still continue to exert their own identity, adding just the right amount of melody (don’t worry: it’s VERY slight!) and making the remarkably crisp ‘n’ clean production work entirely for them. 

Could Millennium of Night Bliss be Valgrind‘s best record yet? Put in the work and lose thyself in its labyrinths, and surely will you see the night-blissful truth!

In the meantime, hear the brand-new title track “Millennium of Night Bliss” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Also hear the previously revealed “Teshub” HERE at Memento Mori‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:


Tracklisting for Valgrind (Italy)’s Millennium of Night Bliss

1. Teshub
2. Banished by Celestial Harmonies
3. Millennium of Night Bliss
4. Tenebra Corona Mundi
5. Dark Winds of Avalon
6. Lament of the Black Penitents (Glory Is the Sun of the Dead)
7. Oracle of Death
8. Fear from Beyond
9. The Path to the Temple of Black Ash


Related posts

Italy’s VALGRIND stream new MEMENTO MORI album at Death Metal Promotion


Italy’s VALGRIND set release date for new MEMENTO MORI album, reveal first track


Italy’s VALGRIND premiere new track at


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More