New BATTLE BORN single and music video, ‘Dragon Heart’, premiering now

Photographer credit: Marie Korner

BATTLE BORN are today premiering their new single and music video, Dragon Heartvia Distorted SoundDragon Heart is the Southampton, UK power metal group’s second single to be taken from their forthcoming debut album, Blood, Fire, Magic and Steel, which is due for release via Prosthetic Records on May 12. Dragon Heart’s video was produced by Quenvy Malavé, bringing the band’s Skyrim-inspired fantasy world to life as animated illustrations.


Dragon Heart will be available on all streaming platforms on Friday, April 7.
Pre-order Blood, Fire, Magic and Steel here.

Speaking on the video premiere, Will Kerr (guitar and keyboards) comments: “We can’t wait for everyone to hear Dragon Heart, the latest single from our upcoming debut album. A song that’s already become a fan favourite and staple of our live set, Dragon Heart is at its core an emotive tale of forbidden love – and how love always conquers all.  We’re looking forward to hearing you all singing your hearts out to the chorus when we hit the road in May!”

Since their 2019 inception and 2020 self-titled debut EP, BATTLE BORN has garnered a dedicated following in the burgeoning UK power metal scene and beyond for their approach to both storytelling and songcraft, as well as their undying reverence for traditional heavy metal. Previously released singles in the form of Bring the Metal Back and album track Fire Storm showcased BATTLE BORN as a step ahead of genre traditionalists, with wide eyed theatricality and grandiose flair being put at the forefront of their sound.

The group efforts of Blood, Fire, Magic and Steel’s meticulous creative process was vital to bringing their world of swords and sorcery to life, with production and engineering credits including Kurt Fagan at The Ranch Production House and mixing and mastering by Orden Ogan’s Sebastian “Seeb” Levermann at Greenman Studios.

BATTLE BORN’s affinity for European power metal is evident across the 11 tracks on offer, just take one listen to their foray into balladry on The Endless Grey or late album mini-epic Ride North for Winterhold’s majesty, with an emphasis on lavish orchestration throughout. Where others might slip into imitation or retro nostalgia, BATTLE BORN deftly pay their respects to a long running genre whilst injecting a youthful verve in the process.

Blood, Fire, Magic and Steel is visually captured in eye watering fashion by graphic designer Stan-W Decker (Blue Öyster Cult, Powerwolf, Dragonforce), perfectly echoing the wars waged in the band’s bold and daring world. BATTLE BORN’s Blood, Fire, Magic and Steel is not only an invitation to join forces with the quartet on their perilous mission, it also finally answers the question, “What would Skyrim’s greatest band sound like?”.

BATTLE BORN_cover230215

Blood, Fire, Magic and Steel tracklist:
1. Wind Caller
2. Dragon Heart
3. Blood and Fire
4. Power Force
5. When Empires Die
6. The Endless Grey
7. Fire Storm
8. Down Your Drinks and Raise Your Swords
9. Meridia
10. Ride North for Winterhold
11. Sky Guard You

Jack Reynolds – vocals
Will Kerr – guitars, keyboards
Tom O’Dell – guitars, vocals
Charles Lamacraft-Perrett – drums, vocals

Upcoming BATTLE BORN tour dates:

Blood, Fire, Magic and Steel UK tour
17 May – The Six Six – Cambridge, UK
18 May – The Underground – Bradford, UK
19 May – Ivory Blacks – Glasgow, UK
20 May – Legends – Edinburgh, UK
21 May – The Fulford Arms – York, UK
22 May – Network – Sheffield, UK
24 May – Satan’s Hollow – Manchester, UK
25 May – The Underground – Stoke, UK
26 May – The Flapper – Birmingham, UK
27 May – The Hairy Dog – Derby, UK
28 May – Manorfest – Towcester, UK
29 May – Duffy’s Bar – Leicester, UK
31 May – The Gryphon – Bristol, UK
1 June – Fuel – Cardiff, UK
2 June – The Joiners – Southampton, UK
3 June – The Dome – London, UK

Related posts

BATTLE BORN release debut album, ‘Blood, Fire, Magic and Steel’, and share lyric video for ‘Power Force’


BATTLE BORN announce new album, ‘Blood, Fire, Magic and Steel’; New single and music video, ‘Blood and Fire’, premiering now


BATTLE BORN share new single and visualizer, ‘Fire Storm’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More