THANATOMASS premiere new track at


Today, lawless black metallers Thanatomass premiere the new track “Sorcery of Hades” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated debut album, Hades, set for international release on May 12th via Living Temple Records. Hear Thanatomass‘ “Sorcery of Hades” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

The origins of Thanatomass are shadowy, but their first public recording – 2018’s MMXV-MMXVI demo – reveals some hints as to that mystery. From there, the conflagration was lit; the power-trio continued to expound upon their lawless black metal ultraviolence, exploding with more eldritch energies and ever-more-ravenous devotion with each successive strike. The following year’s Darkest Conjurations EP saw Thanatomass link up with current conspirators Living Temple, becoming more barbaric and atmospheric simultaneously, which then reached a fever pitch with 2021’s Black Vitriol & Iron Fire EP. These two short-lengths evinced exceptionally more ideas and of course far more violence than records twice their length, and suitably etched the band’s name into the underground as one to watch…and be fearful of.

At long last, Thanatomass‘ first official full-length arises with Hades. Here, immediately, past and present are consumed by unquenchable fire, an absolute bloodlust that cannot be sated – a near-overwhelming display of ultraviolent physicality that takes on a supernatural aspect, so impossibly askew is their attack. With but a minute-long intro to set the stage and prepare the unsuspecting for the cosmic onslaught ahead, Hades kicks into contorting/spiraling form with the 10-minute epic “Templvm Carnalis / Vomit Ceremony,” which mainlines the OTT diabolism of Sarcofago’s INRI into the vortextural slipstream of classic Katharsis. But as the album plays on – and as the listener’s will is reflexively, irrevocably broken down, submission turning to hypnotism and eventually immolation – those sonic signposts are successively uprooted, and it’s brazenly displayed that Thanatomass are operating with a decidedly unique approach to songwriting. Still ultraviolent, sure, and arguably one of the most dangerous displays of such within nowadays’ underground, Hades presents clear & caustic ideas hammered to their logical conclusion only to birth yet more vulgar shapes that then contort and distort themselves into continually frightening contours…all with nary a pause for breath. But lest one think that Thanatomass are “chaotic” or “dissonant” or other such loaded descriptors, it must be stressed that their chops and execution are superlative: natural and “live,” as it should be, with no fake punch-ins and the like, honoring the ancient ways of heavy metal fire. And, just like their prior recordings but especially more so here, Thanatomass are undeniably a black METAL band, flying the flag of the first wave but prepared to burn any banners or standards as needed.

At seven songs across 44 minutes, with two songs topping eight minutes each and another two topping ten, Hades is a tower of ceremonial debauchery writ in shattered-glass sonics. That David Glomba provides stunning cover and interior artwork further underlines the magnitude of Thanatomass‘ debut album, and altogether stands as the momentous event it was destined to be. Submit to everlasting fire!

Continue submitting to the brand-new track “Sorcery of Hades” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Begin submitting to the previously revealed track “Gravedance Sabbath” both HERE at Living Temple‘s official YouTube channel as well as HERE at Living Temple‘s Bandcamp, where the album can also be preordered. Aforementioned cover art and tracklisting are as follows:


Tracklisting for Thanatomass’ Hades

1. Katabasis (Intromass) [1:04]
2. Templvm Carnalis / Vomit Ceremony [10:01]
3. Gravedance Sabbath [2:18]
4. Living Tombs Of Tartaros [8:31]
5. Sorcery Of Hades [8:52]
6. The Bone Nimbus [1:19]
7. Retromass (Morbid Ordinance Of Doom) [11:27]


Related posts

THANATOMASS stream LIVING TEMPLE debut album at


THANATOMASS set release date for LIVING TEMPLE debut album, reveal first track


THANATOMASS stream new LIVING TEMPLE album at Black Metal Promotion


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More