OBLIVION PROTOCOL – release lyric video for first digital single, ‘Forests In The Fallout’ & launch »The Fall Of The Shires« pre-orders

OBLIVION PROTOCOL — the new project of THRESHOLD keyboard player and songwriter Richard West – have finally unveiled a first sonic appetizer from their debut album »The Fall Of The Shires« today.

Mastermind West explains: “At the end of »Legends Of The Shires,« the protagonist considers a number of possible futures (“maybe a painter, a guide, a clerk, a maker, or maybe a writer, a king, a star, a fighter”). So the sequel tells the story of him becoming the king and the consequences of that choice where he decides that the only way to control the population is to suppress and control them, so the shires become a much darker place.”

The first digital single, ‘Forests In The Fallout,’ is told from the perspective of the suppressed people and is the perfect introduction to this new progressive metal masterpiece.

Watch the supporting lyric video:
Stream/purchase the song:

To be released on August 18, 2023 via Atomic Fire Records, the record was written as a sequel to THRESHOLD‘s 2017 concept album »Legends Of The Shires,« and delivers a dense, climactic sound somewhere between RUSHSTEVEN WILSON»The Dark Side Of The Moon«-era PINK FLOYD and hard rock masters GHOST, all the while providing the listener with clever little nods, bows and references to the first instalment.

Pre-order »The Fall Of The Shires« in the physical format of your choice (see below!), pre-save it on your favourite DSP or pre-order it digitally to receive ‘Forests In The Fallout’ instantly now, here:

Don’t forget to subscribe Atomic Fire Records on YouTube to stay updated & to listen to ‘Forests In The Fallout’ as well as other new tracks in the »AFR New Releases« playlist on Spotify


»The Fall Of The Shires« will be available in the following formats:

– CD-digipak
– 1LP in gatefold (green)
– digital

»The Fall Of The Shires« – Track Listing:

01. The Fall (Part 1)
02. Tormented
03. Public Safety Broadcast
04. This Is Not a Test
05. Storm Warning
06. Vertigo
07. Forests In The Fallout
08. The Fall (Part 2)

The album cover — designed by celebrated artist Thomas Ewerhard who was responsible for so many of THRESHOLD‘s classic covers such as »Hypothetical«and »Subsurface« — depicts the downfall of the world shown on »Legends Of The Shires.«

OBLIVION PROTOCOL‘s line-up is completed with three renowned musicians: guitarist Ruud Jolie (WITHIN TEMPTATION), bassist Simon Andersson (DARKWATER) and drummer Darby Todd (DEVIN TOWNSEND). Last but not least THRESHOLD‘s Karl Groom has also contributed some truly enthralling guitar solos to the record.


Richard West | vocals, keyboards
Ruud Jolie | guitars
Simon Andersson | bass
Darby Todd | drums


Related posts

OBLIVION PROTOCOL – release much awaited debut album »The Fall Of The Shires«


OBLIVION PROTOCOL – launch lyric video for ‘The Fall (Part 1)’ track from upcoming debut album »The Fall Of The Shires«


OBLIVION PROTOCOL – unveil first details of upcoming debut album »The Fall Of The Shires«


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More