COFFIN MULCH premiere new track at


Today, Scottish death metallers Coffin Mulch premiere the new track “Fall of Gaia” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated debut album, Spectral Intercession, set for international release on June 30th via Memento Mori. Hear Coffin Mulch‘s “Fall of Gaia” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Hailing from Scotland, Coffin Mulch formed in 2018 and quickly set to work on their debut demo, Coffin Mulch, which was released a year later. Two years later came the Septic Funeral EP, both of which have garnered widespread acclaim in the death metal underground. Although undeniably a DEATH METAL band, the quartet come from a diverse musical background, having played in a variety of different bands throughout the years, but started Coffin Mulch to play old-school, heavy & pounding death metal influenced by late ’80s / early ’90s gods like Entombed, Autopsy, Massacre, Death, and Bolt Thrower. They’re all punks at heart, though, and the DIY ethic and aesthetic is just as important to them as the tunes.

And “tunes” they indeed have across their full-length debut, Spectral Intercession. With gutted tones just on the right side of raw and a horrifying intro to set the scene, Coffin Mulch lurch and crunch forward with ominous intent. Each of the album’s eight tracks offers ample proof of the potency of traditional, turn-of-the-’90s death metal – especially so, when it’s done with this much passion and intensity. Indeed, no matter the tempo employed (and quite often, the band stick to a headbanging gallop), Coffin Mulch make you feel every mangled riff, every ragged drum-hit, every tortured tonsil…the songwriting may be simple, but it’s not simplistic, and it’s their execution that truly puts over Spectral Intercession. Nevertheless, they’re not afraid to put a little twist here and there, whether it’s a fleeting (and subtly employed) guitar effect or an intentionally askew transition, and the rare guitar solo really hits with soul-searing aplomb. Or witness the eerie, climactic closer “Eternal Enslavement,” where a doomed morass opens up and swallows the listener whole.

There’s no shortage of “old school” death metal records these days, but it’s rare to find one with such personality that’s unselfconscious and not belabored. Coffin Mulch find that sweet spot with Spectral Intercession!

In the meantime, hear the brand-new track “Fall of Gaia” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Also hear the previously revealed “Into the Blood” HERE at Memento Mori‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

COFFIN MULCH_cover230508

Tracklisting for Coffin Mulch’s Spectral Intercession

1. Spectral Intercession
2. Into the Blood
3. Mental Suicide
4. In the Grip of Death
5. Fall of Gaia
6. Gateway to the Unseen
7. Infernal Mass
8. Eternal Enslavement


Related posts

COFFIN MULCH stream MEMENTO MORI debut at Death Metal Promotion


COFFIN MULCH set release date for MEMENTO MORI debut, reveal first track


COFFIN MULCH sign with MEMENTO MORI, to release debut album


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More