PROFANATICA release second new track of forthcoming album!

Blasphemous black metal legion PROFANATICA are back with a brand new album ‘Crux Simplex’! In celebration of the new satanic offering, the band is now releasing the second single “The First Fall”, which can now be heard HERE.

The new album will be out on 22 September, 2023 via Season of Mist Underground Activists and can be pre-saved HERE.  Pre-order are available HERE!

Profanatica – The First Fall (official audio) 2023

PROFANATICA have previously unveiled the cover artwork for “Crux Simplex”, which can be viewed together with further album details below.


1. Condemned to Unholy Death (4:38)
2. Take Up the Cross (3:01)
3. The First Fall (3:24)
4. Meeting of a Whore (3:02)
5. Compelled by Romans (4:47)
6. Wipe the Fucking Face of Jesus (2:20)
7. The Second Fall (2:40)
8. Cunts of Jerusalem (3:35)
9. The Third Fall (4:18)
10. Division of Robes (6:51)
Total: 36:76


Style: U.S. Black Metal
FFO: Sarcofago, Possessed, Necrovore, NME, Poison Idea 

PROFANATICA are at the vanguard of the first wave of American black metal. Founded and led by infamous master of black perversion Paul Ledney (drums/vocals), they have purveyed primeval blasphemy for nigh on thirty-three years.

Ledney formed the band from the ashes of the first INCANTATION lineup when he split and took with him all of the members sans John McEntee. That early trio of ex-INCANTATION members reeled off three ground-breaking demos of some of the most extreme and blasphemic metal of its time in rapid succession. The band flyers that permeated the tape-trading circuit were no less shocking and featured the trio bloody and naked and in the throes of what was most certainly a primeval summoning of some kind. In short order, they had inked a deal with the fledgling Osmose Productions for what became one of that labels first releases (Osmose release #5); a legendary split with Colombia’s MASACRE.

Something so volatile could only last briefly, and after another brief recording session the band collapsed under the weight of its own extremity. but the recordings made in this two year window went on to see dozens of reissues in the coming decades, in a testament to how formidable and formative they are to the black metal scene worldwide.

After almost fifteen years spent with his equally polarizing solo project HAVOHEJ, Ledney reignited the flames of PROFANATICA in 2006. Reemerging with a new deal from Hells Headbangers, Ledney and his new band released ‘The Enemy of Virtue’, a collection of that vaunted early material, and a new full-length, ‘Profanatitas de Domonatia’. A triumphant return, ‘Profanatitas de Domonatia’ picked up right where these Kings of US Black Metal left off, delivering a savage stream of chainsaw guitars and relentless battery upon which they desecrated everything sacred.

This set-in motion another frenetic burst of work for PROFANATICA. The next decade saw them unleash four new full-length albums of blasphemous perversions, sacrilegious incantations, and furious black metal. In addition, the band issued six mini-albums and EP’s, a full DVD of early footage, and began touring internationally in Europe and in Central and South America. For the first time PROFANATICA were appearing near or at the top of the bill at festivals like MDF, Messe Des Mortes, Hells Headbash, Prague Death Mass (Czech Republic), Chaos Descends (Germany), Black Sun (Spain), Tyrant Fest (France), SWR Fest (Portugal) and many more.

In fall 2018, PROFANATICA joined forces with Season of Mist and undertook their biggest tour to date supporting WATAIN and ROTTING CHRIST across Europe. And a year later, the trio vomited forth a most vulgar strain of black metal ejaculate with their SoM debut album ‘Rotting Incarnation of God’.

The band embarked on an extensive twelve-country European headline tour in the album’s wake. Shortly after returning home that winter, the world ground to a halt in 2020. Save a live-streaming concert production for the legendary Rock al Parque in conjunction with BATUSHKA, little was heard from PROFANATICA.

That is until spring 2023, when PROFANATICA emerged from their den of iniquity on a European headline tour to promote a new album. ‘Crux Simplex’ is a ten-track offensive of sin and sacrilege, a nasty affront that bastardizes the first 10 stations of the cross. As per their legacy, PROFANATICA deals in bestial, first-wave black metal barbarity, and their eighth album unveils ungodly levels of bile and blasphemy.

Related posts

Profanatica Interview


PROFANATICA Streaming New Album Ahead of Release


PROFANATICA Desecrate the Crucifixion on “The Third Fall”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More