Re-Issue of Blackened Death/Doom Unit 1914’s Colossal Album, “Eschatology of War”, out this Friday, August 4, via Napalm Records!

[photo credit: May Lee]

“We are not singing the songs, we are telling the stories!”

Ukrainian blackened death/doom entity 1914 unleash a re-issue of their 2015 full-length, Eschatology of War, this Friday, August 4, 2023! Fans of the band have long-awaited this physical re-release of 1914’s debut album inspired by the horrific stories of World War I, and finally it is here in several thrilling formats. Concurrently, 1914 have revealed a completely new “Eschatology of War” T-shirt design, that is already available to pre-order.
Re-watch the shocking music video for “Caught In The Crossfire” below! A haunting intro sets the scene before rapid drum patterns melt into the soundscapes of warfare.

Inspired by the madness of war, Eschatology of War faces various events from the past, such as the Battles of Gallipoli and Verdun, the gas attack at Ypres, the Brusilovsky breakthrough, the Christmas truce and the bombing of London, just to name a few. Eschatology of War starts with the genuine intro “War In”, delivering tunes of an old military march, which was played for men going to war. “Frozen in Trenches (Christmas Truce)” presents a harmonious idyll to the melody of popular Christmas carol “Silent Night”, as the blaze of gunfire breaks in shortly after, while harsh vocals attack to transport nothing but death and decay. The album’s longest song, “Ottoman Rise”, stirs up the atmosphere even more with heavy guitar lines, thunderous black metal drumming and deep screams of despair. 1914’s uncompromising achievement of combining old school death and black metal, spiced with the approach of sludge and doom, can’t be pigeonholed.

Eschatology of War tracklisting:
1. War In            
2. Gasmask       
3. Frozen in Trenches (Christmas Truce)
4. Verdun          
5. Caught in the Crossfire           
6. Zeppelin Raids            
7. Ottoman Rise              
8. Arditi              
9. Battlefield    
10. War Out      
11. Gasmask (Eastern Front Remix By Solar Owl) / Bonus Track
12. Zeppelin Raids (Western front RMX by ✞ λ₴MѺÐ∆I ✞) / Bonus Track

Pre-order your Eschatology of War re-issue NOW:


Eschatology of War will be available in the following formats:
Album Cover Shirt & Digisleeve Bundle
6 PageDigisleeve CD Edition
2LP Gatefold in BLACK
Eschatology of War T-Shirt
In addition, 1914 has released a new Ukraine support “Onto Victory” shirt, as well as charity tapes of The Blind Leading The Blind and Eschatology of War. The profits of the exclusive T-shirt and tapes will go to the band.
1914 state:
“You can help us to win this war. Every sold t-shirt will be converted into a donation. Every donation will be converted into vehicles, helmets, armored plates, medicine and drones for our defenders. Let’s win this horrible war against dictatorship, fascism, tyranny and the cult of personality together!”

1914 is:
9. Westpreußisches Infanterie-Regiment Nr. 176, Hptm. Ditmar Kumarberg – vocals
The 51st Highland Division, 1/9th Bn. 2Lt. Liam Fessen – guitar
307th Infantry Regiment, Capt. Walter Wyhovsky – guitar
Le 151e Regiment d’Infanterie, Cne. Armin d’Harcourt – bass
K.K. Landwehr-Infanterieregiment Lemberg Nr.19, Obltn. Rostislaw Potoplacht – drums
1914 online:
Napalm Records

Related posts

1914 Releases Ukraine Support T-Shirt + Get Your Re-Issue of the Monumental Album “Eschatology of War”


1914 Announces Re-Issue of Monumental Album “Eschatology of War” + New Merch Design, Ukraine Support Shirt, Released


Blackened Death/Doom Offensive 1914 Re-Releases “The Blind Leading The Blind” + “Eschatology of War” on Tape – Strictly Limited!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More