Spain’s MORTA stream SIGNAL REX debut album at Transmissions From the Dark

Today, Spanish black metallers Morta stream the entirety of their highly anticipated debut album, La España negra, at the Transmissions From the Dark YouTube channel. Set for international release on September 8th via Signal Rex, hear Morta‘s La España negra in its entirety exclusively HERE.

One of the black metal underground’s best-kept secrets, Morta first fully arose from the crypt with Signal Rex’s release of their debut EP, Fúnebre. Banging ‘n’ clanging anguish echoing from the filthiest dungeons, the then-trio’s first short-length succinctly displayed their palpably physical – and surprisingly emotive – attack across nearly a half-hour. In a sense, Fúnebre felt like an album, but such was still brewing…

At long last, Morta’s debut album bubbles up from the primordial muck with no small amount of rudeness: La España negra. Pure and proud BLACK METAL from southern climes, Morta’s first full-length carries forward many/most of its predecessors’ foremost strengths – deft shifts from spiralingly violent hypnosis to scabrously headbanging segments, a remorselessly raw-yet-refined soundfield, ugly and emotional in equal measure – but a relatively wider (and wilder) swath of ideas and textures are given ample room to roam across this 39-minute recording. Just like that predecessor, La España negra resides firmly within the realm of black metal, be it elder expressions from the ‘90s and underground-entrenched ones post-Y2K; the now-quartet honor the sanctity of the artform by exploring their own vibrations rather than those of others. But within a longer format and maximizing that expanded lineup, Morta often allow bass guitar to guide their eerily hummable melodicism – again, one could liken that to a romanticism unique to their Spanish heritage – and even when pushing busier, denser tonalities, there’s a perversely ethereal quality that creates a cool disconnect. Their dungeons are deeper than ever, and the reverberations go straight to the soul…

Forever champions of Southern European black metal aristocracy, Signal Rex are honored to foster the gangrenous growth of Morta and spread the spell of La España negra.

In the leadup to its international release this Friday, hear La España negra in its entirety exclusively HERE, courtesy of the Transmissions From the Dark YouTube channel. Preorder info can be found HERE at Signal Rex‘s Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:


Tracklisting for Morta (Spain)’s La España negra
1. Requiem por una España fragmentad
2. La caída de los infieles
3. La fé impura de un futuro envuelto en llamas
4. La muerte santa
5. Leyenda negra del tiempo
6. Mi invierno eterno
7. Estigia
8. Transustanciación Diabólica


Related posts

Spain’s MORTA premiere new track at


Spain’s MORTA set release date for SIGNAL REX debut album, reveal first track


MORTA stream SIGNAL REX debut at


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More