The Netherlands’ ECOCIDE premiere new video at


Today, Dutch death metallers Ecocidepremiere the new video “Metamorphosis” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s long-awaited second album, Metamorphosis, set for international release on October 23rd via Memento Mori. Se & hear Ecocide‘s video for the title track “Metamorphosis” exclusively HERE.

Ecocide was formed in Haarlem by Sten Govers, Bas Gijzen, and Rick Stikkelorum back in 2012, with Dennis Bikker joining in 2014. Their self-titled 2012 demo was basically thrash metal with a pinch of death metal thrown in for good measure and lyrical themes based on H.P. Lovecraft, ’80s horror, and sci-fi movies. Their 2013 debut album, Eye of Wicked Sight, saw the band shift their initial thrash metal sound into old-school death metal, taking the Floridian brand of Death, Obituary, and Massacre, adding some Swedish inspiration in the vein of Entombed, Grave, and Unleashed, pouring some Bolt Thrower heaviness, some Pestilence greatness, and throwing in an additional touch of thrash metal àla Slayer for a real homage to the golden days of yore, when death metal was memorable and riff-oriented to the hilt. The release of the album quickly attracted a bigger, international following, and the band started playing dozens of shows within and around the Netherlands. During these shows, they shared the stage with bands like Malevolent Creation, Sinister, Gorguts, and the legendary Bolt Thrower. After two lineup changes ,the band called it quits in 2015, returning briefly in 2017 to release a single titled “The Godhand,” and then again in 2020 to release another single, titled “Sleeper.” After releasing those two songs, the band remained dormant until 2023, when they announced their comeback and started working for the second album.

Now, at long last is that comeback already ready, fittingly titled Metamorphosis. Indeed, it’s been a full decade since their debut album, but Ecocide prove that LP#2 could’ve followed swiftly after the first: the band stick to their guns, and totally solidify their transformation into old-school death metal par excellence. While thrash riffs still abound, they’re fully integrated into the whole, supporting an unbelievably era-authentic Tampa style that could’ve come out in 1991. Ecocide‘s songwriting has also gotten stronger, shifting speeds with deftness and care, and placing a premium on earth-shuddering breakdowns. There’s always a linear flow to all that they do here on Metamorphosis, even when the riffing gets busier and the rhythms kick into overdrive; for the latter, the kick drums in particular impart that timeless “tornado” effect that made many a Morrisound recording so classic. Similarly, the production across the album is clear, crunchy, and classy, displaying technical finesse whilst keeping just the right amount of grit. And what to say of vocalist/guitarist Govers…well, an exceptionally CLASSIC death metal throat, powerful in his enunciation and creeping you the fuck out!

Completed by Costin Chioreanu’s horrifically abstract cover art, Ecocide make a grand return with Metamorphosis. Let’s hope it’s not another decade for LP#3!

In the meantime, see & hear the brand-new video for the title track “Metamorphosis” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Also hear the previously revealed “On the Shores of Madness” lyric video HERE at Memento Mori‘s official YouTube channel. Aforementioned cover art and tracklisting are as follows:


Tracklisting for Ecocide (The Netherlands)’s Metamorphosis
1. Prologue
2. Metamorphosis
3. Terminus
4. Corrupted Reality
5. On the Shores of Madness 
6. Vortex Singularity
7. Transcendence of the Mind
8. The Flayed 
9. Amongst the Tombs


Related posts

The Netherlands’ ECOCIDE stream new MEMENTO MORI album at Death Metal Promotion


The Netherlands’ ECOCIDE set release date for new MEMENTO MORI album, reveal first track


The Netherlands’ ECOCIDE sign with MEMENTO MORI, prepare second album


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More