DISGUISED MALIGNANCE premiere new album, ‘Entering the Gateways’

Photographer credit: Eero Palmu

DISGUISED MALIGNANCE are currently premiering their debut album, Entering the Gateways, in full via Decibel Magazine. Alongside the premiere, the band has also shared a full track-by-track breakdown of the album. Hailing from Helsinki, Finland, DISGUISED MALIGNANCE‘s first full-length sees the young group combine old and new school death metal influences, with themes of celestial terror. Entering the Gateways will be released via Prosthetic Records on September 29.

Entering the Gateways will be available on all streaming platforms on Friday, September 29.
Pre-order Entering the Gateways here.

Speaking on the premiere, Felix Pennanen (vocals) comments: “We are happy to finally unleash our debut album upon mankind, and it’s a great honor to have it premiere with none other than Decibel!”

DISGUISED MALIGNANCE’s formative years up until this point has seen the group operate primarily as a duo, with vocalist Felix Pennanen and bassist Aatos Palmu forming the band in 2021, and carefully constructing the band’s foundational sound of old school death metal sensibilities with a calculatedly modern view of technical songwriting embellishments. The young band’s dichotomous approach to the genre was evidenced in their early demo and 2023 promo tapes respectively, before Pennanen and Palmu found themselves with growing ambitions for the band.

Commencing writing and recording in 2022 with their core pairing, DISGUISED MALGINANCE display a musical chemistry far beyond their years on Entering the Gateways. Frenzied passages careen and jolt forward with a menacing intent, whilst swarming tremolos and an dexterous rhythmic backbone bring to mind greats such as Demilich and Crytopsy. Written specifically with a solidified quintet in mind, Entering the Gateways ushers DISGUISED MALIGNANCE’s more textured passages into the fold – look no further than Disengagement into Eternity or Remnants of Serenity – that invoke more modern death metal acts such as Tomb Mold and Blood Incantation.

Inspired heavily by Lovecraftian horror and armed with an esoterically eldritch unease at the simultaneously unknown and unknowable, Entering the Gateways oscillates between the physical and the otherworldly throughout its 34 minute runtime. DISGUISEDMALIGNANCE’s ambitions to take death metal’s elemental parts and impart their own verve and voice into the genre are plain to see on their first full-length, and it’s a testament to their natural talents that Entering the Gateways stands as a bold introduction to the band.


Entering the Gateways tracklist:
1. Gates to Nihil
2. Confined
3. Unearthly Extinction
4. The Fading Path of Existence
5. Malignant Visions
6. Remanants of Serenity
7. Disengagement into Eternity
8. Beyond (Entering the Gateways)

Felix Pennanen – vocals
Aatos Palmu – bass
Daniel Gamache – guitar
Tuure Suomalainen – guitar
Juuso Hämäläinen – drums

Related posts

DISGUISED MALIGNANCE share new single, ‘Unearthly Extinction’


DISGUISED MALIGNANCE share new single and music video, ‘Confined’


DISGUISED MALIGNANCE sign to Prosthetic Records and announce debut album, ‘Entering the Gateways’; ‘Malignant Visions’ streaming now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More